We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Struggling to stay alive, but worth preserving”

The Historic Holly Theater
Ranked #14 of 42 things to do in Dahlonega
Attraction details
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Struggling to stay alive, but worth preserving”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

While we live well over an hour's drive away (well the best of traffic conditions), we have kept The Holly on our list of theaters. It has gone through a period (coinciding with the economic downturn) where it struggled to stay as an operating enterprise. While we have gone often to the Cumming Playhouse over the last three years, we had not found much of interest at the Holly. This has changed. This year we have been twice for music events. Last night we saw Banks & Shane, an Atlanta area iconic act for 40 years. New management/Board of Directors seem to have good plan to keep this venue alive. Check out the plays. We have plans to visit at least twice more this year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mountain Music Review”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Such a fun night to enjoy the culture of the blue grass music in the Georgia Mountains. We had 10 in our group for the night. The various musical groups were so fun to tap our toes and laugh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great little theatre”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This little theatre reminds you of the old fashion theatres from by gone days. They have interesting programs from the community. Adult Spelling Bees - children plays - high school plays - professional plays -etc

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank partygirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holly Theater Plays & Concerts”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's a Wonderful Life was such a great production that we went out and bought season tickets for the plays. We also bought tickets for the Return. We've see them before at the Holly and they are so much like the Beatles, it's unreal. Saint Paddy's Eve, we'll be right back at the Holly for an evening with Emerald Rose. Their concerts are great.

The Mountain Music and Medicine Show is another one of our favorites. The setting is Dahlonega from Gold Rush days of the early 1800s to modern times of the early 1950s---? Doc Johnson's traveling Miracle Medicine Show has come to town and set up on the Square in front of Nix's Store, the hub of local commerce and social center of the area. Doc brings musical acts of the time with him as well as his own brand of humor while he exhorts folks to buy his "Wizard Water" elixir for improving their lives. He also showcases local talent on his show. Folks come from all around to hear the music & Doc.
It's great to preserve the Appalachian Heritage of music.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mistymountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local theater & historic setting”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

if you enjoy live theater, it has never been a disappointment and for such a small theater is quite charming. A great venue for a concert, not a bad seat in the house. It's under new management, so I hope it continues to prosper as it's a great addition to the entertainment in Dahlonega.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macromama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Holly Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Holly Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing