We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar House Inn & Yurts
Ranked #2 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The perfect getaway for our honeymoon! The Cedar House Inn is the most hospitable Bed and Breakfast ever. We loved waking to song birds in our comfy yurt. A gorgeous luna moth, humming birds and a gecko greeted us on our short walk to breakfast. And breakfast was a sumptuous feast! Mary Beth is obviously an accomplished gourmet cook and homemaker. When we arrived she told us to let her know if we needed anything....but everything we needed was already there! Fred is a witty and engaging conversationalist....we found it really hard to end our breakfast discourse to explore the amazing countryside and state parks. Make sure you visit the incredible Amicalola Falls and Tallulah Gorge State Parks. We also especially enjoyed a tour and tasting at the Habersham Winery. Fred even encouraged us to try a zip-line adventure and we are eternally grateful. We will never forget the 1/2 mile zip at 55 mph! This was a fairytale honeymoon!

Room Tip: The yurts are really private and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 433 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We love the Cedar House Inn & Yurts! It is very comfortable & homey. We have stayed at many Bed & Breakfasts through the years because we love meeting new people at "the breakfast table". Your experience can be as private or as interactive as you wish. We have stayed at the Cedar House on three different occasions, if that tells you anything. The hosts, Mary Beth & Fred, are personable & fun loving. They pay attention to details, which is important to us. Mary Beth has a gift of knowing what you need before you even ask! I can't say enough about the breakfast which is always delicious and healthy. We would recommend The Cedar House Inn to anyone who wants a great getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just had an amazing weekend getaway at the Cedar House Inn & Yurts in Dahlonega, Ga. Fred and Mary Beth were very welcoming hosts (as well as Stu and Karma). We so very much enjoyed the gardens and their company. We stayed in a room in the house but next time we're definitely doing the Yurt! It seems like it would be such a great experience. The breakfast was homemade and delicious and spending time with the other guests and the hosts was just a delight. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chickadee Room and it was perfect. Had it's own little outdoor patio, extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast, and Mary Beth and Fred made it a wonderful experience. I was drawn to their B&B due to their commitment to environmental conservation, and to their vegetarian/vegan breakfast fare. I have to say, they completely sold me on bed and breakfasts! They were friendly and hospitable, the cabin and rooms were excellent, and the food was delicious! I especially loved their wonderful vegan, gluten free baked goods (cookies and muffins). My husband and I really enjoyed chatting with them, and we loved Stu (their puppy). It was close to Dahlonega Square, and they gave us great recommendations for places to eat and things to do. One thing I'd say is you should get to Dahlonega Square early, as everything seems to close at 6pm! In general, we would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cintia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've always wanted to stay in one and this was the chance. Hosts were very nice, information on the website is accurate, loved the vegetarian breakfast. Stu the dog is sweet but not underfoot. If you're there for fun the Gold museum is a ripoff but the NASCAR and Moonshine museum is really fun!

Room Tip: the yurts really are warm during the day in April
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent Valentine's Day Weekend at Cedar House Inn; I couldn't have asked for a better experience. There was good company around the breakfast table, delicious food, amazingly hospitable caretakers (and they're quite charismatic!)... we were even greeted with a warm cup of homemade chai tea.

The yurt in which we stayed was clean and warm, and suitably romantic for the occasion.

I am looking forward to having another visit in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spmross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Gosh it felt like home...like meeting two long lost relatives. Mary Beth and Fred were just the greatest. We lingered over breakfast daily just chatting with them about anything and everything. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the breakfasts were delicious, the cookies were yummy, the view was lovely. I loved that they were so eco friendly and gave us great recommendations about where to eat and where to visit and hike to. We would definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
4.7 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
169 reviews
16.3 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
57 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Inn & Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Inn & Yurts

Address: 6463 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1938
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: $115 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique eco friendly/green inn popular among nature lovers/tree huggers, artists, college students, young professionals and the young at heart. Located in the heart of the North Georgia mountains and wine country. Vegetarian breakfast served with organic eggs, organic ingredients and seasonal veggies from permaculture garden. Choose from charming rooms starting at $135.00 to unique yurts at $155.00 excluding taxes depending on time of year. Adults only. No Smoking. No Pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar House Inn And Yurts
Cedar House Inn & Yurts Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing