We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic brisket!”

Smoking Gold Barbeque
Ranked #16 of 87 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taylorsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic brisket!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Everything here, save for the potato salad, was fantastic. The brisket was amazing, the rib tip sandwich was great, the corn casserole was yummy, the banana pudding was great. This is probably the best brisket I have ever had, and definitely ask for the mustard sauce. It was divine! We were seated immediately, and the staff was very nice. The owner even chatted with us awhile. We'd definitely go back!

The only suggestion I'd have is the potato salad. It didn't have any flavor - it was completely unremarkable, and needed salt, if nothing else, but really would benefit from some other additions like mustard, egg, or some such. Fix that, and this is truly a five-star establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    42
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ, Slow Service”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I am in the BBQ business and love trying new BBQ places. We go to North Georgia once a year and try a new place every time, mainly because there isn't anything worth going back to a second time. This place's proteins were better than any I've had up here, especially the brisket and burnt ends which is a good indicator of how good a BBQ place is to true Pit Masters and BBQ officianados. Nothing outrageously good but worth a return visit most likely. Service was slow and sides were slightly below average but I would return to get some more burnt ends if I'm in Dahlonega (so?) I give it an average rating compared to all BBQ restaurant but above average when compared to local competition.

Helpful?
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal. 6 people for $68.00 plus tip. Friendly and quick service. Highly recommend. Located on Main Street so if you are parked near the square, it's within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
2 reviews
“Best brisket”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had lunch here after walking around Main Street, and it was fantastic. My pulled pork sandwich was very good, but the brisket is simply amazing (my wife ordered it, and I sampled it). The price is perfect for lunch (about $6 a meal). Will stop by again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place, been twice”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great BBQ been twice when in town. We love it. We had the pulled pork plate. The mac and cheese is homemade. Try the corn casserole (i think that is what it is called).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tweetyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoking Gold Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Smoking Gold Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing