We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smith House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Arab, Alabama
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Really enjoyed staying at this quaint House. Did not eat at the restaurant but have before and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandjtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    81
    23
    14
    2
See reviews for
78
122
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

I love coming up there every year for our bike race and staying at the Smith House. Great time and will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cburrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have eaten scrumptious meals at The Smith House since the 60's, but just had my first overnight experience Labor Day week-end 2010. What a perfect place for wedding and reunion groups! Our suite of 3 rooms with a parlor opening onto the front porch was the gathering place for after-parties and family visits at my nephew's wedding. We rented the whole hotel so all the people there belonged to us! The staff was excellent, patient and kind as you would expect in a home away from home. Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at The Smith House for 2 nights while visiting Dahlonega for a graduation at North Georgia College. We were utterly surprised at the quality of the rooms at The Smith House. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and it was impeccable and didn’t lack any detail. The room was brilliant updated with granite countertops & lush new carpet. The bathroom had a gorgeous claw foot tub and a huge marble shower with multiple shower heads. The bedding was exceptionally soft and was significantly softer than our bed at home! The staff was extremely nice and of course the food was excellent! We loved our visit in Dahlonega and would highly recommend the city and the stay at The Smith House. Excellent experience—we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladydiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglasville, ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

The Smith House is WONDERFUL!!! The food was deleicious and yummy. The room was delightful. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud with a cloud for a pillow. It was decorated in a classic and simple style. The shower was hot and the vanity was large and beautiful. The towels were the best!!! The staff was great. I would dedinitely stay here again!!!!!!

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank gotravelingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our room was located in The Carriage House which is attached to the main building. The room was really small, and very "out-dated"!! The bathroom was TINY with little to no counterspace. All furniture and fixtures appeared to be antiques!! They advertise that all room have flat screen TVs----NO TRUE!! We had an old style tube in our room!! We were very disappointed that our room wasn't as nice as the website and advertisements made it seem. The bed was not comfortable at all!! They definitely need to invest in some new mattresses. There was not a telephone located in our room which we thought was odd.
However, our friends had a room located in the main building and their room was much nicer than ours. The bathroom was spacious with a lots of counterspace and large tile shower. Their room did include the flat screen TV and the furniture was much more modern.
If you are planning on staying at The Smith House, please request a room in the main building!!! Stay away from the carriage house!! They should seriously consider remodeling it, before they reserve those rooms to guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadybugGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I took my family back down to Georgia where I am from. As a boy, my parents used to take me up to Dahlonega and we always ate at the Smith House. Since we were traveling to Atlanta, I decided to book a room there on the way to Atlanta. As always, the food in the restaurant is awesome. No complaints there. The rooms however are expensive and just so so. The swimming pool is tiny and wasn't the cleanest. They have a small wooden party area that was in need of renovation and cleaning. We did have a reservation for two nights but we decided to cancel and spend the rest of the time in Atlanta. Dahlonega is a great place to visit and is very charming. However since I was there last it really has become a tourist trap from how it was 30 years ago. I would still recommend going there for the southern charm and finding out about the first gold rush in the United States. If you do decide to spend the night at the Smith House, maybe stay for one night and then decide if you'd like to spend more time there. I couldn't justify the expense for any more nights there. It's way too expensive for what you can get at the nicer newer chain type motel/suites. Sorry Smith house... :(

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sciron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Property: The Smith House
Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1235
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smith House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing