We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Great”
Review of The Smith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smith House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2007

The best thing about the Smith House is the food, but it's NOT included in the price of the accommodations. We were told that there was a continental breakfast. It only included a small store bought wrapped muffin and coffee. Thus, we went to a local restaurant to get some breakfast. The decor needs to be improved. I'ts a stuck in the 80's with burgundy carpet and wallpaper. The staff however were really nice. For the price I have stayed in much better places.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GaHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 309 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2006

this place is very clean and great location from the square and clean resturant would love to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hopperman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We recently stayed in Dahlonega for a wedding and chose the Smith House. The price was a bit steep ($115 per night), but everything in that area is about the same (I think).

The desk clerk was very welcoming, and made sure to give us maps and recommendations. Our room was average size, with new carpet, original stained glass windows, and a vaulted ceiling. The bathroom was small, but was very clean. They had the basic toiletries, a hair dryer and a coffeemaker. For breakfast, they had muffins, danishes, cereal, and oatmeal. We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant, but I"ve heard it is excellent.

I'm not sure why another poster mentioned all the steps. We walked up two flights of steps to get to our inside rooms. The walk to the town square was a slight incline, but not bad at all.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greenart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2005

I am commenting on the earlier review mentioning the Smith House as being on top of a mountain. In fact it is located in Dahlonega within walking distance of the square. The 42 steps is more like 3.

I think the reviewer must have listed the wrong establishment. Just think the readers should know.

  • Stayed: January 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ecopreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
tucker,GA
119
Reviewed September 21, 2003

Lovely accomodations...once you get up all 42 steps! We were not informed that our suite would be such a challenge to reach. When we informed management that they might want to share that fact, we were not appreciated. So-o-o-o, thought we might share this for your benefit.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
165 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
357 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1235
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: $126 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smith House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing