We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not comfortable”
Review of The Smith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smith House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

my wife and I stayed at the smith house on 10/13/13 and stayed in room number one. We were awaking in the middle of the night because the air condition shut off. This was due to the fact that they preset the temperature to a very uncomfortable setting.it was hot and we had to select the fan only on the air condition in order to sleep. Was not happy at all.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you like to be cool at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 316 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We on a trip threw the north Georgia mountains and hit Dahlonega about the time to find a Hotel. The Smith House is excellant in every respect. Nice Home and Carriage House turned into a hotel. Everything is totally remodeled and looks really great. Rooms are perfect, located just off the main square so everything is within walking distance. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at The Smith
House and the room was very quaint and the service was great.
We never tried out the restaurant as we don't eat meat and there was no seafood alternative. My other suggestion was that instead of a continental breakfast that they offer a regular breakfast in the dining room. I would definitely go back as we had a great getaway weekend!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannahredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I came in late for a race, and this was my first stay at the Smith House. Very nice room, great value, and the perfect location. Very well appointed room with a very comfortable bed. Highly recommend this one!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcobbchattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom villa at the Smith House in Dahlonega on Sept 28, 2013 for 1 night. The villa had everything needed for a long stay and was fully equipped including washer and dryer. The best thing about the villa was the balcony with a view overlooking the town square. There was a bicycling race going on and we were able to watch comfortably from our villa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtothesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed there just one night, and we loved it. So very charming. The bed was dreamy!!! Neither of us wanted to leave. Very cozy. We look forward to returning. It is so close to the square - nice you can just park and not have to drive anywhere. We enjoyed the porch as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewnanGA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in August for our son's wedding & booked most of the rooms. The guests all raved about how comfortable the beds were. We had the rehearsal dinner there for 140 people & it could not have been better prepared & managed. The service is outstanding & the food even better. Thanks to Freda for making everything so special! We travel extensively & it is worth your time to stay in Dahlonega for at least an overnight & we would highly recommend The Smith House for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
504 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1235
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: $139 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smith House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing