We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place”
Review of The Smith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Smith House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at The Smith House for one night and found it to be quite pleasant considering that there are not many offerings in the area. It is a historic property with a pleasant porch where we sat and enjoyed a bottle of wine. Cute little shop and restaurant (that we did not try). The room was large and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: We selected a deluxe King room so our review is based on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    82
    24
    16
    2
See reviews for
81
124
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed during the week in room 18, has a huge comfortable bed. Pool is nice and close to rooms. This is a charming little place but book early, only has around 20 rooms. The dining room was closed the night I stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable price for the quality.
Comfortable and attractive accommodation, including access to a common sitting room. Enjoyed the rockers on the porch as well.
Hospitable staff.
Right off Dahlonega's center square. Close to the Gold Museum and several restaurants and shops.
Don't miss The mine shaft in the basement.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What more can you ask for? My wife and I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have been impressed every time. The rooms are clean and modern, but still have the older home charm. The service has been awesome every visit. They even send us thank you post cards thanking us for staying with them. We stay there when we visit the many wineries in the area. This is a great time and we can recommend it highly enough. You can walk to the historic downtown Dahlonega, which is very nice with many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've stayed at the Smith House on several different trips to Dahlonega, and enjoy it more each time. It's one of those places you can count on for comfort, convenience, class, and excellent service. The staff is always so welcoming and takes the time to mail out a handwritten thank you note after. You can't beat the location for being able to see Dahlonega on foot. It's a nice change of pace from your cookie cutter 200 room high rises elsewhere.

One tip: book early for special event weekends, because they will fill up.

Room Tip: Spring for the deluxe king....costs a little more, but the rooms are substantially larger and a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sae299963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in The Chestatchee Village, which is part of The Smith House. We had a 2br/2bth unit that was wonderful. All the pleasure of home and a great value. The unit was serviced each day by housekeeping so it was just like staying in the hotel. The only down side to the unit was that it was on the third floor of the building & there is no elevator. We were fine with the stairs but had we had any health issues it could have been a problem. This info should have been offered when we made our reservation. The room overlooked the town square and we were able to walk to meals and shopping. It was a wonderful location. We did have dinner at The Smith House restaurant one evening and were very pleased with the meal. Great Southern cooking & plenty of it! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had heard so many good reviews of Smith House. When I visited I was highly disappointed. The corn was canned and so were the green beans. I don't understand as fresh vegetables are a plenty in North GA. Really jeed to work on decor and food quality. Won't waste my time or money to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank laura7027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
18.5 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Property: The Smith House
Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1235
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smith House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing