We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Wedding Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smith House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great for Wedding Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I had our wedding recently in the Dahlonega area. We decided to use the Smith house for our main hotel for ourselves, the wedding party, and the family of the bride. With the amount of guests, we were able to rent out the entire Smith House for the weekend, which worked out very well. Everyone seemed to love the rooms, especially the beds. The best part of the smith house are the common areas that adjoin the rooms. We were able to happy hours and after parties whenever we wanted to and had no complaints. Also, with the hotel being so close to the square, our guests were able to visit all of the attractions and shops of the Dahlonega square, and we were able to have a shuttle pick up the guests from the hotel and take them to and from the wedding site. We had a blast at this hotel and would definitely recommend this to anyone planning a wedding or just a fun weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    82
    24
    14
    2
See reviews for
81
123
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Smith House was recommended by a customer in the North Ga area. We drove up from Atlanta, loved the area, found the Smith House to be quaint, but the rooms are too crowed/small for more than 1 person. We did enjoy the family style fried chicken dinner that they are apparently known for. Met fellow diners from Europe that were repeat visitors, and they did not find the rooms small at all. The staff was very friendly, and basically told us the history of Dahlonega. It is a VERY small town, so we were able to take it all in during our 1 overnight stay. Next time I am in the area, I'll stop by for the fried chicken dinner and company, but doubt I would overnight there again. Its an awesome area in the fall!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALaMothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The rooms were not like the photos. Pictures showed claw foot tubs and our room didn't even have a tub. The room was way to small. Thank God we only stayed one night. The Smith House is conviently located to all the shops . You can walk to everything. Dont take your purchases back to the room . There is not any room there. The room itself was clean but the windows were filthy. When we pay $140.00 a night for a room we expect good service. There were not any bell hops and they gave us a room upstairs. No elevators. The employees in the store and check in were friendly. The Smith House is a nice place, however the prices ars just too high, definitely not a good value. I was disappointed. I would only stay here again if I had no other decent choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyfye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

When we checked into the Smith House, we were delighted that the inn keeper checked us in quickly and personally showed us to our deluxe king room. The room was nice and spacious. It had a king bed, flat screen tv, and huge jetted garden tub with shower. However, the shower did not work properly as the temperature went from cold to scalding hot, cold to hot, etc. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. But, some of the furniture style including the bed was not to period. When we checked out we enjoyed a great lunch at the inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

If you are heading to Dahlonega or want a place to go...this is it!
My husband is an Alum of North georgia and never stayed at this hotel now we can't wait to go back.
If you can.....the Deluxe Suite is extraordinary!!!!!
You can walk to everything,you are on the square.
Exceptional!
The staff was extremely helpful,can't say enough!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceP136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our experience at the Smith House was wonderful. We stayed 3 nights in the Captain Hall Suite and it was perfect. The room and lobby area was very clean and well taken care of. During our stay we had our son's rehearsal dinner at the Smith House; the food and service was outstanding. The location is also great! It is right on the square where all the shopping and restaurants are.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBenedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Smith House is a wonderful place to visit and enjoy Dahlonega. Just a short walk to the square. Checking in and out was a very nice experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and clean and unique. If you get a chance make The Smith House one of you stops in the Georgia Mountains.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
18.5 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Property: The Smith House
Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1235
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smith House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing