We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Would Love to Stay Again.”
Review of Barefoot Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barefoot Hills
Ranked #4 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hiker Hostel one night as we were stopping through Georgia to do a day hike up Blood Mountain. We arrived later than planned due to traveling in the rain, but we were happily greeted and shown around the cabin. We stayed in a bunk room on the third floor, which was very clean and pleasant. The whole cabin has a clean and comfortable feel to it. A hearty breakfast of french toast, eggs, grits, and oatmeal was served at 7:30 in the morning, all personally prepared by Josh and Leigh. There was Wi-Fi throughout the cabin, and a full kitchen for guest use downstairs. All the other guests appeared to be hiking the Appalachian Trail so it made for interesting conversation. We are new to hiking and were definitely inspired by the people that we met and the general atmosphere of the hostel. We would like to return and spend multiple days hiking in Georgia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelyReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 117 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

After all the great reviews we saw online, we wanted to check it out and it was as wonderful as everyone else said - maybe even better!!

We stayed in one of their private rooms so it felt more like a B&B than a hostel. Can't say enough nice things about the staff, the house, the location, the breakfast! Everything was beyond what you would expect for a hostel and for the price. Exceptional value!

Also we were traveling with our Australian labradoodle and they were not only pet friendly but didn't even charge a pet fee or deposit!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I learned about slackpacking and I am glad I did. It sure beats sleeping in the woods. Lee and Josh provide a clean room and great breakfast to start the day. Shuttles to the trail made my trip easy and stress free. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boca_penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Ditto everything said by every other reviewer. Husband and I stayed at Hiker Hostel earlier this week, our last stop on my husband's cycling vacation. This 3 level cabin home is comfortable and clean, and located in a beautiful, quiet area about 6-7 miles north of d/t Dahlonega and about 15 miles from Vogel State Park. A great location for bicycling and hiking, or just relaxing and exploring the area (we also did some winetasting at Blackstock, and visited Loganberry Heritage Farm for fresh vegetables and grass-fed beef, and lunch at the Ore House). This Hostel has everything you need plus so much more. Complimentary breakfast prepared for you each morning, use of a kitchen to prepare your own food, wi-fi, 3 common areas for tv, movies, reading...., bike racks inside, beautiful deck out back with fire pit, bench swing, BBQ grill, smoker, bike stand to do repairs. Also, shuttles available to nearby hiking points. Rent an affordable private room, or one of 4 less expensive bunks in a shared room. Or if just passing through, they even offer $3 showers. This hostel was such an nice change from staying in a motel/hotel. Thanks to Willy for the hospitality. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here last year when finished hiking a section of the Appalachian Trail. Did it again this year. Pick up and drop off to the AT is a big plus. Friendly warm welcome. Very clean rooms. Quiet and peaceful. Shower, AC, firepit, use of kitchen and washer/dryer are nice. Included Breakfast is superb. Josh and Leigh are former thru hikers and founded this place in 2004. They do a great job. The price for a room is very reasonable too. Hope to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was the best way to start the AT!!! Flew into Atlanta and took the MARTA train to the north end of the city where Willy (Hiker Hostel Driver and a wealth of AT info) picked 5 hikers up including myself. We stopped off at Walmart to grab dinner to cook that night in the guest kitchen. The hostel itself is in a beautiful setting surrounded by forest. The inside is extremely well kept and comfortable, resembling a B&B a little more than a hostel. After a good nights sleep in the bunk room, woke up to a terrific breakfast prepared by Leah before being shuttled to the trail. BE AWARE, there is generally one AM shuttle and you probably wont hit the trailhead until ~10am. I hiked from Springer Mt to Unicoi Gap then caught a ride into Helen, where I made arrangements for the shuttle to pick me up and take me back to the airport. Josh, Leah, and Willy were very helpful, friendly, and overly courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RandyM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hostel. Very clean & comfortable, with a nice kitchen for guests. Staying there feels like you're a guest at a friend's house.

We were on a cycling trip, and there were also spaces to hang up bikes inside, a hose to wash bikes outside, and a living room to hang around when we weren't riding.

Leigh and Josh, (who run the hostel), are wonderfully friendly and helpful, and cook delicious breakfasts every day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
5.8 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#2 of 8 in Dahlonega
318 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
508 reviews
16.2 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Hills

Address: 7693 US Highway 19 North, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1968 (Formerly Hiker Hostel)
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: $127 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Hills Hotel is nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, near the historic gold-rush town of Dahlonega, Georgia and dozens of award winning wineries found throughout Georgia Wine Country. Our eclectic Southern Living theme gives guests a wide range of accommodation options, including standard hotel rooms, 2bd & 3bd Suites, and private cabins. Our bunk rooms will accommodate up to 4 individuals each and have a private bath. Barefoot Hills provides shuttle services to several gaps along the Appalachian Trial, and can provide guided hikes if you prefer to go with a pro. We also can arrange fly fishing expeditions, kayaking tours, and golf reservations for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Barefoot Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing