We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will definitely return. Not your normal Hostel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hiker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hiker Hostel
Ranked #4 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will definitely return. Not your normal Hostel.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I learned about slackpacking and I am glad I did. It sure beats sleeping in the woods. Lee and Josh provide a clean room and great breakfast to start the day. Shuttles to the trail made my trip easy and stress free. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boca_penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Ditto everything said by every other reviewer. Husband and I stayed at Hiker Hostel earlier this week, our last stop on my husband's cycling vacation. This 3 level cabin home is comfortable and clean, and located in a beautiful, quiet area about 6-7 miles north of d/t Dahlonega and about 15 miles from Vogel State Park. A great location for bicycling and hiking, or just relaxing and exploring the area (we also did some winetasting at Blackstock, and visited Loganberry Heritage Farm for fresh vegetables and grass-fed beef, and lunch at the Ore House). This Hostel has everything you need plus so much more. Complimentary breakfast prepared for you each morning, use of a kitchen to prepare your own food, wi-fi, 3 common areas for tv, movies, reading...., bike racks inside, beautiful deck out back with fire pit, bench swing, BBQ grill, smoker, bike stand to do repairs. Also, shuttles available to nearby hiking points. Rent an affordable private room, or one of 4 less expensive bunks in a shared room. Or if just passing through, they even offer $3 showers. This hostel was such an nice change from staying in a motel/hotel. Thanks to Willy for the hospitality. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here last year when finished hiking a section of the Appalachian Trail. Did it again this year. Pick up and drop off to the AT is a big plus. Friendly warm welcome. Very clean rooms. Quiet and peaceful. Shower, AC, firepit, use of kitchen and washer/dryer are nice. Included Breakfast is superb. Josh and Leigh are former thru hikers and founded this place in 2004. They do a great job. The price for a room is very reasonable too. Hope to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was the best way to start the AT!!! Flew into Atlanta and took the MARTA train to the north end of the city where Willy (Hiker Hostel Driver and a wealth of AT info) picked 5 hikers up including myself. We stopped off at Walmart to grab dinner to cook that night in the guest kitchen. The hostel itself is in a beautiful setting surrounded by forest. The inside is extremely well kept and comfortable, resembling a B&B a little more than a hostel. After a good nights sleep in the bunk room, woke up to a terrific breakfast prepared by Leah before being shuttled to the trail. BE AWARE, there is generally one AM shuttle and you probably wont hit the trailhead until ~10am. I hiked from Springer Mt to Unicoi Gap then caught a ride into Helen, where I made arrangements for the shuttle to pick me up and take me back to the airport. Josh, Leah, and Willy were very helpful, friendly, and overly courteous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandyM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hostel. Very clean & comfortable, with a nice kitchen for guests. Staying there feels like you're a guest at a friend's house.

We were on a cycling trip, and there were also spaces to hang up bikes inside, a hose to wash bikes outside, and a living room to hang around when we weren't riding.

Leigh and Josh, (who run the hostel), are wonderfully friendly and helpful, and cook delicious breakfasts every day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This place is somewhat of a mix between a fancy hostel and a modest bed and breakfast. The building is clean, the grounds are well kept, the food is great and the owners are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. It felt like being a guest at someone's house. Guests have access to kitchen and laundry area. Transportation to and from the airport and to and from local hiking is available.

Room Tip: Bunk rooms and private rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Don’t let the name fool you it is not a regular hostel. This is a cabin in the woods that has both private rooms and bunk rooms for people just wanting to relax in the wilderness to hikers passing through for a shower and a good meal. There is a kitchen downstairs to prepare meals or make hot water in preparation for cold weather hiking and they also provide a homemade morning breakfast with fresh eggs from their own chickens.

The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable having hiked the App Trail themselves.

There is free internet access and satellite TV with Netflixs.

The bathrooms are comfortable and they provide towels and linens for the beds.

They also provide transportation to the beginning of the App Trail at Springer Mountain.

I would be glad to stay here again even if I was not hiking if I am ever back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CmanScrufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
445 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
153 reviews
16.2 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
314 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lily Creek Lodge
Lily Creek Lodge
#8 of 8 in Dahlonega
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiker Hostel

Property: Hiker Hostel
Address: 7693 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1968
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hiker Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hiker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing