We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for entire family”

Consolidated Gold Mine
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You and your family will enjoy a 40 minute Underground Adventure of the mine with one of our friendly and knowledgeable staff members.As you descend the stairs, you will hear tales of miner’s struggles to uncover gold deep within large Quartz veins. Your tour guide welcomes interaction from the group as you experience life as a miner at the turn of the century.After your tour, you will receive gold panning instructions from some of the best panners in the world, having won numerous awards in the field. Then you will get a chance to try if for yourself and hopefully you’ll strike it rich!While you are at the mine, don’t forget to try our “Gemstone Grubbin’” for a great family experience. Everyone will love our water powered flume boxes that quickly wash away material revealing beautiful gemstones! We have buckets for beginners and experts alike. There’s no better way to strike it rich!The Mines remain at a comfortable 60 degrees year round. As a reminder, this is a walking tour. Guests enter the mine via three flights of stairs and two ramps. Tennis shoes are recommended and closed toed shoes are a must! Flip Flops are not permitted for the Underground Adventure.Pets and strollers are not permitted in the mine.TRAVEL 200 FEET UNDERGROUND AND 100 YEARS BACK IN TIME!
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Experience for entire family”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time, especially with our grandson. The tour and panning was worth the money and very educational. This is a great excursion for the entire family and well worth the cost.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Balgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    172
    18
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lilburn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boys had a Blast!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Our guide Precious had the best sense of humor. He told interesting facts and then would let the kids try to hold the old mining tools to understand how heavy they were. He really tried to get across the fact that ppl used to make $.35 cents a day farming and $1.00 mining- in the near dark, in the dampness... And they were happy to have it! His comedy approach led to good conversations in the way home about the value if a dollar. The Gold Panning was ok but the Gem Mining was great! The souvenirs were reasonable and we're definitely going back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilburnRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun trip”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time going here and we love it. Last time was five years ago. The tour was interesting. Make sure to wear sneakers or closed toe shoes if you chose to go on the tour. The buckets of gem mining are neat for any age. New addition is a gem store that cuts your found stones.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tlw911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun day trip.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Consolidated Gold Mine. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. We decided to do the Gem Grubbin'. You must remember that this is directed to tourists so it's not like grabbing your pick and rock hammer and wearing yourself out hoping to find one gem. We actually found several precious and semi-precious gems that we are going to have cut and mounted. The price was a little more reasonable than other places we checked out. We'll definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryandKathyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Family fun for all ages”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this mine each time we are on vacation in the area (at least 15 times in the last 25 years) and have loved it each time we went. This year we got to bring our 2yo son to go gem grubbing. At first he didn't want to do it cause the water was col but once he finally got his hands in there and watched the gems magically appear as the sand washed away he was hooked. His cousins had to fight him for the big sand bucket. He left w/ a large bag of gems of all sizes and varieties. Yes the gems are planted in the bucket, one even had a sticker w/ the store name on it, but did you really expect otherwise? I even got to pan for gold & bring home 7 gold flakes from one pan. Love this place and will continue to visit when we are in the area. :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Consolidated Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing