We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Loved the escape room!

I’ve been to the gold museum several times, but not since the remodel...it looks great! A couple... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Heather N
via mobile
Worth the stop in Dahlonega

We bought touring tickets at the visitors center and really appreciated learning the history of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
renawellnessconcepts
,
Birmingham, Alabama
Read all 343 reviews
  
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
187
112
33
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
112
33
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old court house minute film interesting history town square great displays shown upstairs local mines entry fee trail of tears united states history lesson great place to visit north georgia well worth the visit gift shop courthouse movie
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good stop..but average for a museum if you have ever been to a national type museum. Great customer service with ranger joe guys and volunteers. Mainly reading exhibits and a few examples of artifacts.

Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been to the gold museum several times, but not since the remodel...it looks great! A couple friends and I did the Hung Jury escape room and it was a great experience! It’s a smaller room than any other escape experience I’d done, so it might be a tight space with a group of more than 5 or 6. One of the guides, Marcia, was hilarious and knowledgeable and definitely made the experience memorable. We managed to escape with 7 minutes left, and we’ll definitely be coming back if they do a different escape room.

Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We bought touring tickets at the visitors center and really appreciated learning the history of gold in Dahlonega.

Thank renawellnessconcepts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not being familiar with the Gold Rush history of this region, it was an interesting and detailed account of the "gold rush" in Georgia. Dahlonega town is cute with the museum situated in the square of the town. It's good for a stop, maybe 1/2 day max.

Thank kah50442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed the museum and the park ranger's were incredibly knowledgeable and kind.

I learned so much about the history of gold mining, the Trail of Tears and about the US Mint. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As if I thought it couldn't get any better. The remodel took it over the top and now its golden! I also had a great tour guide (Sam, I think ) can't wait to bring others here!

Thank katzrkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Amazing little gem. Extremely friendly staff - very knowledgeable. Extremely helpful. Museum has an interesting history as a court house as well

Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Interesting film about the area the gold mines and the gold rush. On TheBeautiful historic square, nice to walk around.

Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed this very informative museum and the staff was excellent..The video was of a great help in guiding our thinking of this time in history.

Thank janbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited th gold museum and courthouse and enjoyed it very much. They showed a short film explaining about the gold rush and how it affected the area at that time
I found it very informative.

Thank dascamp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews