We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Pines Villa to celebrate our sixth wedding anniversary. From the moment we drove into Dahlonega and pulled into the Villas' ample parking, we were swept away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives and immediately began to relax. The Golden Pines Villa was spotless and comfortable - the absolutely perfect weekend getaway. The bedroom, bathroom and living room are tastefully decorated and closets have plenty of space to store your items. The kitchen is a major plus! The owners have thought of everything!

We would definitely recommend the Dahlonega Square Villa to anyone looking for an affordable, romantic getaway in the ultimate location! We look forward to staying at the hotel when it opens this year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    24
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
74
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I rented the Mountain View Villa for one night for a bachelorette party. I thought the place itself was very cute and quaint. Good walking distance from most everything. However, within the first 2 hours of our trip, the owner came up to the porch to warn us that there was no "partying" allowed. At this point we had barely unpacked our bags and were not being remotely loud or "partying". The way he approached it was VERY rude and made us feel unwelcomed. Know that if you are staying there, you will have spies. His daughter and himself were already poking around the premises before we had even settled. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We rented the Mountain View, Golden Pines and Miners Ridge. They are 3 of 4 villas located in the same building and are in the picture below. The villas are very nice. The kitchen is big enough to make meals. Regular refrigerator, dishwasher and oven. The beds are comfortable as is the living room furniture. It was missing a corkscrew which was odd for the area but maybe someone took it. Each villa only had 2 rolls of toilet paper and for 3-5 girls per villa at 2 total nights it wasn't enough. Also only 4 wine glasses in the 6 person villa. And 1 mirror which made it a little challenging getting ready! But not deal breakers. The location is perfect. You can walk to all restaurants, shops, bars and the Dahlonega Tasting Room which we enjoyed. Parking is awesome too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWhicters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented the Miners Ridge Villa from Dahlonega Square Villas for a November mountain bike trip and enjoyed our visit to the town.

Pros:

-Convenient location, walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants.
-Keyless entry with key code that is changed with each guest, nice to not have to keep up with keys.
-Kitchen with new appliances that didn't appear to have been used very much. The utensils provided may not be enough to cook a meal but are fine for reheating or making simple things. Nice to have a full size fridge for beverages since this saves a lot of money.
-Plenty of parking.
-Tasteful decor and villa was very clean.
-Exactly as pictured on company website.

Cons:

-Noise level from above unit. We could hear the people above us when they came in at 2am. The pergo flooring didn't do much to insulate against sound. I doubt most guests stay out this late so it shouldn't be a problem for most guests. I did speak to management and I believe they asked them to remove their shoes when coming in late since it did seem to help the next night.
-It would have been nice if the bed was firmer or upgraded. It wasn't the worst but certainly could have been much better.

Room Tip: Upper level unit may be better for noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCMtbGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dahlonega makes for a nice weekend trip from Atlanta, and this villa is in the perfect spot. It is literally steps from the town square, and in walking distance of a wide-variety of restaurants. My husband and I spent July 4th there, and it was wonderful to have an air-conditioned spot to put up our feet anytime we needed a break from the heat!

The villa looks like a tiny house from the outside, but once you step inside, you feel like you're in a large hotel suite. It's not like renting a cabin. If you're looking for a full-sized kitchen, so you can fix your own meals, this is not the place for you. It has a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a few dishes. The villa was well stocked with linens and paper products and was immaculate upon our arrival. We had even checked with the owner and asked him to let us know if the villa was ready early, and he was kind enough to give us a call as soon as it was available so we could drop off our luggage.

We will definitely stay there again next time we go to Dahlonega!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Perfect location for exploring the square by foot and the surrounding area by car - top notch finishings in a quaint stand-along building with a history.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom but the two chairs in the sitting area fold-out to become single beds... w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Right on the square and convenient to everything Dahlonega! Just the right amount of space and very very clean. The bedding was wildly comfortable and we had very restful sleep. It was a beautiful December weekend and so much was happening on the square. It is such a well thought out use of space, we look forward ot our next visit to the Dahlonega Square Villa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mscommish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.1 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.8 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas

Property: The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Address: 135 N Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dahlonega Square Hotel is a boutique hotel with 6 double queen rooms and 6 king rooms and one suite, each with a private bath, all located steps from the historic square with onsite parking. The hotel has an elevator for easy access to upper level floors. The Dahlonega Square Villas on Choice Avenue all have complete kitchens, onsite parking and located steps from the square. The Historic Dahlonega Square Villa has a sitting room, kitchenette, and queen room located a stones throw from the historic square. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing