We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavender Creek Cabins Resort
Certificate of Excellence
unknown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This cabin was quite romantic. Gorgeous view, you can hear the creek bubbling. Definitely a cozy stay for your trip to Dahlonega. The owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotGivenAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
88
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I should start off by saying I am a major city person, and when I vacation, I usually choose to relax on a beach. That said, I cannot say enough good things about Cavender Creek Cabins. We stayed in Cabin 3 which sleeps 4 (6 if you use the fold-out couch). The area is beautiful, and the cabins are far enough apart to where you feel you have some privacy. Our cabin was very small, but very clean and charming. Sitting in the hot tub with a glass of wine on a cold night was heavenly. It was so wonderful to sit on the porch in the morning listening to the creek running along the back of the property. Very quiet and peaceful.

A couple of tips: Do not use googlemaps.com. Their directions are awful and did not get me even close to where I needed to be. Also, if you want to go to a neighborhood restaurant for dinner, you need to get there fairly early as a lot of restaurants in the area close at 8pm (on the weekends).

Otherwise, just have fun and relax. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sara20002004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFayette, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We look forward to our stay here every year. Owners are friendly & very attentive to detail. Cabins are always very clean. Rustic nature of setting is extremely relaxing and peaceful. You are close enough to and far enough away from 'the big city' to make your stay convenient for any desire.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We've been going to Cavender Creek Cabins since 2000 and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else. The owners', the Hanson's, are wonderful people who care about there customers.
It is centrally located to Dahlonega's historic Town Square (which they decorated early for Christmas because of the impending visit of the national christmas tree coming through later that week). It's just a few miles from Amicalola Falls State Park, Vogel State Park and as many as 20 other water falls which can be discovered. There are also two gold mines in the area which can be explored.
The property offers 3 different hiking trails, a running creek, a catch-and-release pond and some wild turkeys who roosted near our cabin. The hot tub was fabulous and we used the gas grill on the porch almost every night. If the economy has got you down and you need a 'break' from reality then this is the place to go. We've been beat up some over the past year and it re-energized my family, my relationship with my teens and my wife. I highly recomend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaward68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross GA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Loved the cabin, hot tub, porch. Nice wooded with lots of trails, streams, small waterfalls. No real "mountain" views. Grounds are keeped up very well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrrMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

me and my husband stayed there for our anniversary and we loved it. we took our two chihuahuas and we enjoyed the great out doors. the cabin we stayed in was the one right in front of the water and the sauna on the back porch. LOVED IT. the people are very friendly and the cabin was very clean. we are going to go back in sept. for this years anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellie-lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My wife and I visit Cavender Creek Cabins several times a year because we like the relaxing atmosphere, the beautiful setting, and the clean, well-kept cabins. Each season has its own charm. The shady breezes offer a nice respite from the Atlanta summer heat, but nothing beats sitting in a hot tub on the porch watching snow fall in the woods. With a fireplace, satellite TV, and a fully stocked kitchen, we can be as active or as lazy as we want.

We originally discovered Cavender Creek about seven years ago when we were looking for a location for a family reunion. We checked out a number of places around Dahlonega and Cavender Creek was the cleanest and most inviting. We just returned from our third reunion at Cavender Creek since 2005. With seven families from as far away as Florida, California, and Oregon, we rent all eight cabins and the setup works great. The location is perfect - close enough to Dahlonega if you want to shop or eat at a restaurant (and Dahlonega is a fun town) but far enough away (four miles) that you can revel in your seclusion if you want. Every cabin has a porch, overlooking the creek or the pond, and all but one have a hot tub. The lodge makes a great gathering place for community dinners or other get-togethers, and a nice place for the kids to hang out together (when they aren't playing in the creek); while the individual cabins let you have your own space. The Hansons have been absolutely wonderful working with us each time to accommodate our plans and our get-togethers, not to mention the fact that they are just genuinely nice people.

I guess it is obvious that we would recommend this place to any one who asks – we will keep coming back as long as they are there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodsWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
14.5 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
466 reviews
18.1 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
156 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
156 reviews
15.1 mi away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavender Creek Cabins Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavender Creek Cabins Resort

Property: Cavender Creek Cabins Resort
Address: 200 Beaver Dam Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavender Creek's quality cabins are set in the breathtaking natural beauty of the North Georgia Mountains and blend a rustic setting with luxurious accommodations to create a variety of unique atmospheres that will please even the most demanding guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cavender Creek Cabins Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing