We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
162
26
7
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
26
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private deck biscuits bed and breakfast overnight trip breakfast was delicious great chef serene setting highly recommend this b b short drive close to town king size bed quiet location read a book a great place to stay stay there again get away an excellent host
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 203 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2010

If I could award half marks, I'd probably give the Mountain Top 4.5. It has a lovely location, somewhat out of the way but that is a large part of its charm. Our room was very nice, beautifully furnished and with a good bathroom. The whole house is nicely done, with each room decorated in a different style - some I liked more than others, which is the point of course. Despite the peace and quiet, we didn't sleep that well, and eventually decided that the bed just wasn't that comfortable, at least for us. Breakfast was described as a 'single sitting' and you get no real choice; to be honest I was not that impressed with that aspect of the operation. Personally, and I know I may be in a minority, I don't like the television dominating the breakfast room, especially one tuned to Fox News. Owner and staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, maybe not as outgoing as you might expect a natural innkeeper to be, but we have no complaints. Just a few little things that made it less than perfect - nonetheless i would have no hesitation in recommending that others at least give this place some serious consideration if they are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holtspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We enjoyed the Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega very much in mid-October. This is a very nice inn with a comfortable and cozy atmosphere throughout the house. There were about 14 rooms in the inn, but we were able to enjoy our privacy in our room, but also able to venture out to the rest of the house to visit with other guests and inn keeper himself. The inn keeper was very accomodating and even offerred us a discount coupon he had for one of the nice local restaurants when he learned that were going to dine there!

Our room was completely furnished with antique furniture except for the queen bed which was comfortable and restful and the modern en suite bath. we really enjoyed the breakfasts which were very filling and plentiful and included fresh fruit, homemade muffins and biscuits, coffee, tea and juice. One fellow asked for a diet Coke and got it!

I would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMtravelers1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The lodge is literally located on a mountain top surrounded by a mature hardwood forest. Our room included a sun room and a private deck. The rooms are a tasteful mixture of modern and antique furniture with no sacrifice of functionality. Paul is a gracious host and a great conversationalist and provides a meticulously clean environment. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19mootsman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Great location -- very quiet, you can get to the best 4-5 wineries in the area & to downtown very quickly. It's the best value we could find in the area. Great deck area as well -- buy some wine and bring it back for a nice quiet end to the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemmonsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay for three nights at the Mountain Top Lodge. Paul, the innkeeper was absolutely fabulous and he is a wonderful cook! We chose to stay in a room just steps away from the main house. We liked that because there are only 4 rooms there and it is more private. The room had a balcony overlooking a beautiful woods. The room itself is furnished with antiques and is very well done. It has a fireplace in it. The bathroom is terrific with a 2-person jacuzzi. Food, ambiance and pure relaxation is a wonderful reason to recommend this place. It's close to Dahlonega which is a darling town. There are great golf courses nearby too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews