We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful in a nice setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We were only able to stay 1 night, a quick weekend getaway after a business trip to Atlanta. I chose this location based on it's proximity to Dahlonega but still in a secluded setting - and it fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in a separate building from the main house, very nice room with fireplace, deck, and whirlpool tub - very romantic! The room had all the basic amenities (refrigerator, coffee,... and no TV - perfect). The only downside was the bed - a little too firm for our tastes, but not unbearable. Watched a beautiful sunset sipping champagne on the back deck, would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic getaway only an hour away from bustling Atlanta.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

If I could award half marks, I'd probably give the Mountain Top 4.5. It has a lovely location, somewhat out of the way but that is a large part of its charm. Our room was very nice, beautifully furnished and with a good bathroom. The whole house is nicely done, with each room decorated in a different style - some I liked more than others, which is the point of course. Despite the peace and quiet, we didn't sleep that well, and eventually decided that the bed just wasn't that comfortable, at least for us. Breakfast was described as a 'single sitting' and you get no real choice; to be honest I was not that impressed with that aspect of the operation. Personally, and I know I may be in a minority, I don't like the television dominating the breakfast room, especially one tuned to Fox News. Owner and staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, maybe not as outgoing as you might expect a natural innkeeper to be, but we have no complaints. Just a few little things that made it less than perfect - nonetheless i would have no hesitation in recommending that others at least give this place some serious consideration if they are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holtspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We enjoyed the Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega very much in mid-October. This is a very nice inn with a comfortable and cozy atmosphere throughout the house. There were about 14 rooms in the inn, but we were able to enjoy our privacy in our room, but also able to venture out to the rest of the house to visit with other guests and inn keeper himself. The inn keeper was very accomodating and even offerred us a discount coupon he had for one of the nice local restaurants when he learned that were going to dine there!

Our room was completely furnished with antique furniture except for the queen bed which was comfortable and restful and the modern en suite bath. we really enjoyed the breakfasts which were very filling and plentiful and included fresh fruit, homemade muffins and biscuits, coffee, tea and juice. One fellow asked for a diet Coke and got it!

I would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMtravelers1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The lodge is literally located on a mountain top surrounded by a mature hardwood forest. Our room included a sun room and a private deck. The rooms are a tasteful mixture of modern and antique furniture with no sacrifice of functionality. Paul is a gracious host and a great conversationalist and provides a meticulously clean environment. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19mootsman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Great location -- very quiet, you can get to the best 4-5 wineries in the area & to downtown very quickly. It's the best value we could find in the area. Great deck area as well -- buy some wine and bring it back for a nice quiet end to the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemmonsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay for three nights at the Mountain Top Lodge. Paul, the innkeeper was absolutely fabulous and he is a wonderful cook! We chose to stay in a room just steps away from the main house. We liked that because there are only 4 rooms there and it is more private. The room had a balcony overlooking a beautiful woods. The room itself is furnished with antiques and is very well done. It has a fireplace in it. The bathroom is terrific with a 2-person jacuzzi. Food, ambiance and pure relaxation is a wonderful reason to recommend this place. It's close to Dahlonega which is a darling town. There are great golf courses nearby too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

New ownership did this place good. Tucked away in the mountains outside of Dahlonega, the Mountain Top Lodge is a gem waiting to be discovered. Very comfortable and relaxing. And even though the place was booked when I stayed there, it was very quiet in the evenings and the other guests were fun to be around. Felt like hanging out with family! The owner, Paul, is super attentive and gracious. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
8.7 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
491 reviews
12.4 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lily Creek Lodge
Lily Creek Lodge
#8 of 8 in Dahlonega
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega

Address: 447 Mountain Top Lodge Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-4464
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: $89 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the country B&B charm of this secluded 14 acre estate property. Relax on the decks and porches of the main lodge or the romantic Hillside Lodge. Choose from 12 bedrooms, some with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, decks and separate entrances. Inviting decor using antiques, regional art pieces and quilts create a warm and 'country rustic' feel. Full breakfast; WIFI ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Top Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing