We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed one night. The hotel is renovated with hardwood floors and a newer bathroom. It is in a great location for shopping, dinner or the wine country! The staff was wonderful! We would definatedly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
68
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Sorrento and paid $199 per night. To be honest, I wanted to book the holiday inn express or the quality inn down the road, but they were all full. For $223 (tax included), I expected a whole lot more. I concur with the other reviewer saying that the walls are thin. I could hear people opening the door to their bathrooms. With that said, I heard EVERYTHING going on with my next door neighbors. Sadly, my next door neighbors did not understand the concept of being considerate. Their child was screaming in their room at midnight AND seemingly they were all awake at 8am because I woke up to kids running up and down the balcony and of course, the screaming.

The room was nice and the sheets were very very soft. The set up was nice, but don't expect the Ritz. It's more like someone's apartment room. The mini fridge in the room was empty with exception of two mini size bottled water. Honestly, they could put out regular size water if they are charging that much money. Maybe in one bag of snacks?Also, the coffee that was in our room is set to expire in 1 week. I hope they check the expiration date before recycling it to the new "residents."

The carpet was drop dead dirty. You can see stains on the carpet and the couch. There were no slippers; no toothbrush; and no toothpaste.

Also, I asked if we could check out a little bit later knowing full well that their check-in time is at 3pm. But they said nope, they can only do 12. Frankly, they could have at least inquired about how long we wanted to stay. We were really thinking about 12:30-1 because we wanted to change before heading out to visit the winery. We ended up changing in the car.

Lastly, the girl who telephoned me because I was checking in later than normal was very nice! She knew that it was the holiday weekend and reminded us to make a reservation for dinner. She set up our room and told us what to so when we get there. She was great! All in all, I would have been alright with the place if the rooms were cheaper.

The location of the hotel is great. It's right on the square and it's super super convenient. But, its definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

"The Georgian" room at the Park Place Hotel provided the perfect location for our overnight getaway vacation. We arrived at noon and our room was already prepared for us. The check in was simple and we were shown to our room which was almost an apartment! It offered 2 bedrooms, each with a comfortable queen size bed.

There is a nice living room with a comfortable couch that folded out into an uncomfortable queen sized bed. The flat screen was not huge, but it was fine for us! We weren't there to watch a lot of television. A small area off the living room offered a compact fridge, bottled water, sink, real wine glasses and cork screw and a small table.

The bathroom offers a jacuzzi tub/shower. The toilet was in a separate little closet like room.

The week night price of $199.00/ $223.00 with tax seemed extremely fair to me.

Outside of the rooms, you will find a terrace with tables, chairs, umbrellas and a fire pit. At our request, they built a nice fire for us. They had skewers for marshmallow roasting if we had some.

Our location was an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

I will be returning again for an overnight er at the end of May. Our overnight stay was perfect!

Room Tip: I liked being on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharronLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night. Our room was nice, clean, and pretty well appointed. I think it was a little pricey, but it is right off the square, and really close to everything. If it were not for the other two couples we were with staying here, I would have looked elsewhere. We also went to bed and woke up to people in the next room talking as if they were standing next to us. I wonder what you heard us doing! Nice, but not worth $190 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank ScubaStuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The phrase..."unrealized potential" comes to mind. I don't know what use this building had originally, but it's been nicely remodeled into a 14-room boutique hotel. But then...someone dropped the ball.

All rooms are legitimate 2-room suites so let's talk about ours,Number 14, at $190 per night. The living room had a tiny flat screen on the wall, a wet bar with fridge and coffee maker and was furnished with pickings from a garage sale. Also included in this lavish set up was one table lamp and a ceiling fan with four lights. Consequently, at night with just the lamp on it was light enough for just one nearby person to read, or with the overhead lights on it was sufficiently illuminated to perform surgery.

There are no closets in either room, but the LR did have an old armoire with several old bent wire hangers. This place spares no expense!! On to the bedroom.

The bed was comfortable, but with just two pillows. I cannot recall the last time I slept in a hotel or motel at any price with just two pillows! The bed also came completely equipped with one top sheet and one bed cover. Wow! The flat screen TV on the bedroom wall was a plus, but it was the size of the PC monitor I have on my home office desk.

Finally, a few words about the bathroom: there was plenty of room with updated fixtures, including a jet tub and shower. The toilet was in its own compartment with a pocket door. Nice touch. But then they blew it again!

Here's a complete list of available toiletries:

1 tube of shampoo
1 shower cap
1 box of tissue
1 bar of soap...round and approx. 1 1/2" in diameter.

The hotel office is on the back side of the building. There is no dedicated hotel parking, but the hotel building is adjacent to a free outdoor public lot. Sound proofing leaves much to be desired.

Stay here ONLY if there's a need to be close to Dahlonega's historic court house square. PPH's location was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I decided we needed a break from our busy lives in Atlanta so we decided to escape to the mountains for the weekend. Park Place Hotel was recommended to us by a friend and we couldn't be happier that they sent us there. We arrived at the hotel and had no problem finding parking, seeing as though there are two large lots right behind the hotel. We walked into the office and were greeted by the wonderful staff. Park Place is not your typical hotel where you are given a key and sent off to find your room. Instead, we were showed to our rooms and had assistance carrying our bags upstairs. Our room was beautiful! The living room was separate from the bedroom, again, something you won't find in most places, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful view of downtown Dahlonega from our room that made the stay even better. The room also had Starbucks coffee (yay!) and everything else we needed. Even though the hotel does not serve breakfast, it didn't matter, because the hotel is perfectly located right on the Dahlonega Square. We were able to walk from our room to the Picnic Cafe (a staff recommendation), in about 2 minutes. After breakfast, we returned to the hotel and decided to go on the wine tour that is offered by the hotel (saturdays only) and discounted to guests! The tour was wonderful and the driver was extremely nice and helpful. We were able to visit 3 wineries that we probably wouldn't have gotten to see if it weren't for the tour being offered. When we returned from the tour, our room was clean and spotless as it was when we checked-in.

Overall, staying at the Park Place Hotel was a simply perfect. The staff are wonderful and always courteous and helpful. You couldn't ask for a better location! Being right on the square you are within walking distance to restaurants, antique stores, boutique shops, and even the Gold Museum! We definitely plan on returning to Dahlonega and we won't stay anywhere else but the Park Place Hotel! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamakat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stopped here by chance in September 2013 as we thought the town looked pretty and got a room from very friendly staff. The room itself was fab, separate living area and bedroom looking right onto the square. Beautiful little town - you really could not get a better location than this hotel, its in the centre of it all. I'd highly recommend it and hope to get back some day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 9 in Dahlonega
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 9 in Dahlonega
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
345 reviews
18.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Property: Park Place Hotel
Address: 27 S Park St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1211
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Place is a special upscale Inn located on the Historic Square in downtown Dahlonega. The Suites are detailed with all the luxuries of the finest Hotels, from beds, linens, climate control, wet bars, flat screen televisions, Starbucks coffee and complimentary wine. The spacious one room Suites and two room Suites are all unique in furnishings, however their cleanliness, decorations and fine details are like no other, even compared with the larger Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing