We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise!”

Baba's Gyro & Kabob
Ranked #12 of 265 Restaurants in Cumming
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Baba’s location we ate at was actually 5270 Peachtree Parkway, Suite 115, Norcross, GA 30092, but it is the same establishment as in Cumming. After purchasing a dinner deal and finding the restaurant hidden in a shopping center with a somewhat empty lot, we were not sure what to expect. We actually received excellence. From the incredibly friendly wait staff to the exceptional, authentic food, we were delighted. The Baba Ghanush was the best I ever had and the Persian Cherry Polo was super. The Combo Kabobs were flavorful and tender, and the rice was perfectly steamed. The side salad and pita were ok. The meals were filling and plentiful. Even the homemade Napoleon was a delight. I highly recommend Baba’s! It is a great place for a very casual evening filled with kind hosts and great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1caringmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    70
    26
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had never thought to visit this restaurant because it is attached to a Shell Station. Now it is one of my favorite places to eat. Once you get inside, the atmosphere is very nice and friendly. Our waitress has always been friendly and knowledeable. I recommend the Kabobs. They are marinated in wonderful Greek spices. Everything is very, very good and prices are reasonable. You should try it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaBeachfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Kabobs!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Like everyone says, you don't expect great exotic food in a building shared with a gas station. We have two children from Central Asia and wanted to try the food to see if it was authentic. Truly, the kabobs were seasoned just like those I bought in Kazakhstan at a road side stand. We shared the lamb & steak kabobs and would definitely recommend them. I saw other items on the menu & being served to others that I would want to try. The owner made a point to speak to us twice and the wait staff was very helpful to help us understand the menu items. Even though we live an hour away, we will definely be back.

Helpful?
Thank RopeR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't let the storefront fool you”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Almost did not eat at Babas's due to it being in the same storefront as a Shell gas station. We're glad we did and have been back several times. The gyros are wonderful and our son enjoys the fried ravioli appetizer so much, he orders it as his main meal too. The kabobs are delicious. The service can tend to be a bit slow, but always friendly. They have Greek, Italian and Persian food. The dessert sampler is too die for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brutusosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice to know Greek can be found in Cumming”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Went here for Mother's day. Place is very clean and bright. Server was helpful and had some nice recommendations. The hummus was good, could have used a bit larger portion and more pita but it was a nice starter. Kids got spaghetti (nice portion), chicken fingers & fries (delicious), and hubby got pizza flatbread (satisfied his need for pizza). I got the falafel platter. The falafel was a bit dry but the hummus and tzatziki sauce helped. The Greek potatoes we like homemade chips. They have a nice selection of beer and wine.
The server recommended the kabob, which I will try next time. This seems to be their specialty, should be since its in the name.
Place was steady for 3:00 on Sunday.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamagrunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baba's Gyro & Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing