We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New family favorite”

Rio Balsas Taqueria
Ranked #30 of 266 Restaurants in Cumming
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New family favorite”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We were headed home from church a couple of months ago and decided to give this place a try and boy were we glad we did!! Our family loves everything we've tried here and we've tried about half the menu at this point! I don't think we'll ever be able to eat average Mexican food again! Try it!! You won't be disappointed!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bait & switch”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I called tonight to order some enchiladas. I was told on the phone that I could get them for $1.75. I know she got the information from someone in the back. By the time I got there they went up to $2.25 each. I asked the girl if she would honor the prices. She could not. I asked the manager on duty and he would not. I did tell them that I would report them on tripadvisor and he said go ahead. Poor service does not fare well even if the food is good. I did get my enchiladas elsewhere for $2.25. It was the principle.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lanier, GA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews-great!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch after reading all the great reviews, my first time. Not your typical "Mexican", fresh and authentic with homemade dishes and salsas (try the tomatillo one!!). We both had steak tacos and the cheese dip. Everything was very tasty, service was great. Very friendly place that doesn't look like much from the street. I'm really looking forward to going back to try some other dishes. There have been a good many places in this location, but give this one a try. A little more expensive than some other local "Mexican" joints but the freshness and homemade dishes really are a cut above.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we finally stopped!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My fiance and I have been driving by this place for months, but just never stopped. We finally did the other day and had one of the best Mexican meals we have ever had. Our server was on the ball as well as friendly and the food was fresh and wonderful. Since our first visit we have already been back once and plan on making this restaurant a regular "go to" place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem big on flavor”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

You truly can't judge a book by its cover. The exterior of Rio Balsas is less than inviting and we never would have tried it without a friend's recommendation. What a lovely surprise awaits within this little taqueria off the beaten path. The chips and salsa are homemade daily. The chips are thin, crispy and melt in your mouth. The shrimp appetizer is worth many a return trip, as is the queso dip with a nice spicy mound of chopped jalapenos on top. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. Looking forward to trying more entrees!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Balsas Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Rio Balsas Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing