We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #5 of 266 Restaurants in Cumming
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Authentic, Southern Bar-B-Q. Meats are slow-smoked for 24 hours around the clock. All trimmings are made fresh from scratch daily (not one freezer in the whole building). Dine In, To Go, Drive Thru, Private Dining, or Catering available.
Gainesville
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The cheddar biscuits melt in your mouth! And the fried green tomatoes are super. All the barbeque is good and the servings are generous.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuntGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    111
    55
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cumming, ga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“More about the establishment; less about the BBQ”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Jim & Nick's suffers similarly to other "upscale BBQ restaurants" such as the "Que" in that there is a premium charged for the facilities..

These are not BBQ shacks with great BBQ, nice portions, reasonable prices and cold sodas and beer in an ice-filled tub...and maybe a picnic table or two out front.

You must understand what you are getting! I prefer the shack over the ambiance when I want BBQ. You may want the ambiance more...that's a value choice I do understand. Mine choices effect my rating for this restaurant.

Its not bad...its just not grass-roots BBQ that I want...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank ccmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jim N Nicks - Updated”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've eaten at Jim N Nicks a few more times since our last report and have found that while the service can still be slow, it has much improved. We did have one visit with a lot of issues but the manager more than compensated for it with a bill reduction. We visit about once a month now and while it isn't our favorite, when you factor in the southern vegetables that other BBQ places don't offer it's high on the list. Plus at least the last couple of times, they've brought us unlimited biscuits vesus the rationing they seemed be doing at earlier visits. And the management understands customer service, which is a good plus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 77BizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ate with a friend day before yesterday at J&N's. That's where we always meet when we dine together. She gets the loaded baked potato every time and it always look amazing. Huge potato, tons of great toppings. I always get the pulled pork salad (can't remember what it's called). There's plenty of pork on top and lots of delicious goodies on the bottom including nuts, bacon bits and cheese. It's so tasty, dressing is not necessary! Their sweet tea is the best, too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I know it's a chain, but OH so good!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family loves BBQ and we have been many places. Some are good, some average and some just terrible! Jim 'N Nick's pulled pork and beef brisket are both tender and flavorful, and in addition to that, the sides are great too...especially the mac n cheese and the collards. Also LOVE the cheese bicuits/rolls!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babetha297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing