We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greyfield Inn
Nearby Hotels
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites(St. Marys)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Hotel(St. Marys)
$84
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island(Jekyll Island)(Great Value!)
$221
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$164
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Amelia Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge(Fernandina Beach)
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
$436
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
215
33
17
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
33
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild horsesfernandina beachlive oakspicnic basketfront porchoyster roastprivate bathpickup truckother guestsprivate ferrypark servicethe cottagesporch swingamelia islanddungenessthe main houseliving room
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 273 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I took my wife to Cumberland for her birthday. I had been to the island but not the Greyfield. Yes, it is expensive. However, yes, it is more than worth it. Middy and Mary Jo who run the Inn are absolutely wonderful and have a staff that makes you feel at home, just like you are visiting family. Staying at the Inn makes you feel like the Carnegies must have felt.
I encourage you to stay in the Inn and not the cottages - - gives you more of the feel and experience. Getting to know the others is half the fun! Don't worry about shared bathrooms. Yes, I was worried. But it actually was fine. Everyone was courteous and thoughtful. Just plan a little so you don't take too long. We actually used the bath house behind the house, putting on our robes and crossing the driveway in 34 degree weather, and it was absolutely wonderful.
I recommend the Master Bedroom though we never used the separate sitting room. If we wanted to sit and read, we went downstairs by the fire so we could meet others.
We ended up staying another night because it was such a special place and had to switch to the North Marsh Room. Though no where near as large as the master, it was perfect as well with tons of windows and light. I actually enjoyed waking up to taps being played at the St. Mary's Naval Base. It is amazing how well sound carries across the water.
Four hints. Stay for a Saturday during oyster season so you can enjoy and oyster roast but wait to get dressed for dinner until after the oysters. Second, take the tour of the north island and make sure you plan it on a morning when Plum Orchard is open so you can tour the house.
Three, save up a little more and walk over to Gogo Ferguson's studio for a special piece of jewelry for your wife. It is a reminder that she will never take off and so perfect to remember the island. Four, use the bikes. Go to Dungeness, ride on the beach and explore the lower island. The bikes make it so easy and fun.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

You'll arrive by boat embarking from Fernandina Beach, Fla., and will start to get the flavor of the place even before you reach The Greyfield, as the island slides by on your right, with only an occasional house or dock. It's a mystery landscape of live oaks, palmettos and Spanish moss, occasionally divulging its secrets in the form of an armadillo or fawn. A bright young staff member will give you an orientation, including a brief history of the island which is now mostly national park, then you'll settle into your beautifully furnished room or cottage. There is much to explore -- be sure to see the ruins of the old Carnegie mansion, and historic Stafford which has been kept up at great expense by its owners. (Greyfield provides bikes for its guests, and a beautiful beach -- complete with wild horses -- is only a short distance away.) This is a family-run inn with a distinctly non-corporate feel; bring the kids, or enjoy a romantic escape, it's perfect for both.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came with a friend who had many childhood memories of the island; after just a few hours at the Greyfield Inn and a walk to the beach, we understood why she thought this place so very special. It simply is.

The deep history is fascinating, the roads and trails and wetlands and wild animals are an outdoors person's delight.

The Inn itself is magnificent and the food quite good, though not pretentious and they were very accommodating of a pair of non-meat-eaters.

Even if it was not this good I would come again and gladly pay the freight for a chance to spend another day with Barbara touring the island.

We were there for three days over New Years and the company we met at evening cocktails was as interesting and excellent as everything else.

Room Tip: We had the back room at the Big Cottage and though it meant bringing a small flashlight to dinner (to avoid the horse deposits on the way back), it was a very much larger room than seemed to available at the Inn (and we had a private bath which not all rooms in the Inn do)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

the Greyfield Inn is good enough inn to attract a following even if it were not the only hotel on a 15 mile long piece of undeveloped beach. I cannot think of a comparable piece of real estate anywhere. Go there, bike on the beach, enjoy great food in a totally relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private baths; reserve one that does early.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank light42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yes, the island is beautiful, the tours by Barbara are super, and the staff is wonderful. BUT the food was average in many ways. The breakfasts were small and uninspired. The last night we had prime rib, perfectly prepared, but accompanied by cold and unsavory potatoes and bitter turnips. Another night we had lovely scallops, lobster and risotto, but the kale served with it was much too strong a taste. Our room was much smaller than I had realized on booking (they need a floor plan that shows the furniture in the room so you can tell). The deck that came with it was unusable because the septic system had been dug out recently and was still open, along with the pungent aroma. I would have been happy enough if it had been half the price, but at what they charge, it is just not good value. Go for a day trip and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
12  Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews