We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip - were hoping to see more horses”

Cumberland Island National Seashore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island known for its wide beaches and variety of outdoor activities.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip - were hoping to see more horses”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'm not sure I would travel any great distance to get to Cumberland Island, but being that I live less than an hour away, it was a great day trip to make. We rented bikes and were mesmerized by the Spanish moss hanging over the "street" and a few wild horse sightings at first, but you can only take bikes on a certain part of the island where the trail scenery gets monotonous after awhile. We parked the bikes after lunch and walked to the ruins and beach which was great but we hardly saw any horses and NONE on the beach which was quite a disappointment as that was why we wanted to come in the first place. That being said, the beach scenery is fantastic. I would not camp here if you paid me as I heard people screaming from the freezing showers and think I would simply get bored. Overall though, this is a great place to visit - take time to learn about the history too - I applaud the families who fought to preserve this National Seashore!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mellebell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    91
    16
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of BEST day trips I have ever taken!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friend and I visited Cumberland Island for the first time recently. We had reserved our 9:00 ferry and Land and Legacy Tour several months in advance. What a wonderful place!! The scenery and history of this national treasure is incredible. Our guide Renee was fantastic. She threw us all in a park van and took off. The sandy road was rough, but who cares, because we saw wild horses, scarlet tanagers, armadillos, alligators, wood storks, etc. She stopped at historic places and we got out while she enthralled us with the history, even acting out parts with our group. We had a tour of the First African Church (where John Kennedy married) and a private tour of Plum Orchard ( a historic Carnegie home). As a plus, on the way back we saw a foal that had just been born and she stopped while we watched. Cost of tour $15!!! Cost of experience- Priceless!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dtsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Fascinating History”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We took a day trip to Cumberland Island and were mesmerized by the scenery and the history of this Island. We took the 11:45 Ferry and returned on the 4:45 (I think, double check the times!) boat from the Sea Camp Ranger Station, where before departing you can watch a very interesting documentary on the Island entitled "Cumberland: Island in Time". If you're interested in history, I'd recommend getting this documentary on Amazon prior to visiting the Island to gain a wider perspective before your visit! Also be sure to visit the Ice House Museum for more interesting photos and stories. Really a one of a kind place that would be wonderful for camping someday!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Breathtaking! Cumberland Island is a must-see!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a fabulous trip to Cumberland Island. The beach is amazing -- wild horses, sea birds, and not a soul in sight. Great shelling as well - we found whole sand dollars, conch, lightning whelks, olives, etc. The salt marsh area is also lovely and we saw lots of animals and birds. The Dungeness Ruins are also a must-see. Whether you go for the day, camp, or stay at Greyfield, there are options for every budget. I can't wait to return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Do!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe I am native Georgian and I have never been here before. What an amazing treasure!!! Amazing landscape and close up encounters with the wildlife. The Dungeness ruins are incredible. I would highly recommend this for anyone's bucket list. We went back a second day for the Lands and Legacy tour. Another must do!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank msg11245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumberland Island National Seashore also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Cumberland Island, Georgia Coast
 
Cumberland Island, Georgia Coast
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Cumberland Island National Seashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing