We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slipping?”

Nagoya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 133 Restaurants in Covington
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newborn, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Slipping?”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

OK Ok Ok we did show up at the start of dinner service. But the multitude of workers milling about might just be that they are anxious to serve? Or not.

Service was prompt, but the hibachi chef had no "show" in his presentation. I thought that these cooks/chefs were supposed to spin eggs and make onion volcanos? Not our guy. We got three good sized meals and a bunch of sushi for $117 including tip. Pricey? Yes. Probably not worth that much. I'd say in the $80 range for what we received.
This restaurant is a sister one to Nagoya in Conyers (which I actually prefer). But, it was still tastey----how bad can you mess up fried rice?

I will go here again, but it will be a while.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garliclover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Japanese steak house...”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A little pricey but the food is usually ok... The items from table/counter service (not the show off area) fairs better and some is actually authentic..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank marjo9300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“I WILL BE GOING BACK”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Greeted and seated right away. Employees were friendly. Food was good and prices were fair, not cheap but reasonable.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

use to go there alot. haven't been in a few months. since then they have taken there soup bowl now & use it for the rice bowl (1/2 the size!!) also less on the Veggie's .
Ordered the seafood dish Lobster was terrible (overcooked sent it back & he fixed another one same thing . couldn't eat it . Way to expensive for the price!!!! They won't be in business long if they keep this up , unless they don't care about spening the money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meisha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson ga
1 review
“one of the best times”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

my husband and I are fans of Nagoyas. we go on every special occasion. and just when we want to spend some great times with family and friends. the food and the service is wonderfull. they make you feel at home, like you are one of them. the cooks are the best. they put on a show and make the whole experience the best you ever had. we will keep going back and keep bringing our family and friends just to experence the fun. the food is the greatest.........Mike & Shelley..... patrons since 2005

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelbel45w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagoya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nagoya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing