We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was Stalvey's of old”
Review of Jim Stalvey's

Jim Stalvey's
Ranked #15 of 136 Restaurants in Covington
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wish it was Stalvey's of old”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We would eat here once a week when we first got married. Prime rib and 1/2 and 1/2 skillet (chicken ,steak, mushrooms, onions and peppers) was what we ordered every time. Hots rolls were brought out to the table. Salads were fresh and service was great. Was!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yesterdays prices and yesterdays atomosphere”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had lunch again after last there 5 years ago. Don't think anything changed-- prices, atmosphere or furnishings. Food is still good and a good value but the restaurant just looks tired. Efficient service. Good choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleK711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
348 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very nice locally owned restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Met a friend here for lunch and had a lovely time. The restaurant is no frills, but the food and prices are very good. I had the BBQ pork and my husband had the filet. The waitress was friendly and prompt, and the food arrived hot and to order. Great place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isilwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations - will be back.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Good value, served hot and with a smile. The Rib-eye steak was cooked just right and was as tender as any large steakhouse serves. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealBigDaddyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been here several times. I have always had a great meal & the service is EXCELLENT. I look forward to going again. They have some of the best fried cauliflower I have ever eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhondaWorthington25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Stalvey's also viewed

 

Been to Jim Stalvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing