We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a regular”

Frontera Mex-Mex Grill
Ranked #33 of 180 Restaurants in Conyers
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Conyers, Ga.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“I'm a regular”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Frontera is one of those places you go to without thinking when you're out and about and suddenly realize it's been a while since breakfast. The service is consistently friendly and the food is consistently good. They serve two types of sauce; the traditional red sauce and a chunky black bean sauce, both of which are better than average. The prices are in line with other chain Mexican restaurants, as is the selection. Frontera recently upgraded some of their menu selections, which wouldn't have had much of an impact on traditionalists like me, except they dropped the chili releno from the menu. That just didn't work. It didn't take long for them to see the error of their ways and return it to its rightful place on the lunch special # 1. I've often tried to make the comparison of Frontera to Peppers in Port St. Joe, Fl., and it can't be done. The sauce at Frontera is much better than Peppers', but the margaritas at Peppers get the edge. The food on the lunch special # 1 is prepared differently at Peppers, and Peppers serves a chili pablabo, rather than a chili releno. Bite for bite, the quality is equally good. The difference is, at Peppers, you get a LOT more bites.
Of all the Mexican restaurants in and around Conyers, Frontera is the one that becons you when you're out and about and it's been a while since you had breakfast.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quality has gone down”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We visit this restaurant frequently. We have really noticed that the quality of the food has gone down in the last few months. We usually enjoyed the food and the service but it seems like they are microwaving and pre-preparing lots of the food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I am not usually that fond of Mexican, but I do love this place. They have plenty of options if you are not a very daring diner. I love the cheese dip and the salsa. They also have a pineapple margarita that is to die for! :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice staff and reasonable food.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you want good decent Tex Mex then this is the place. I ate in the lounge area since I was a lone diner, the staff was very attentive.
I would go back if in the area again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Mexican Vegetarian Options”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I dined here a couple of weeks back. Being vegetarian, it can be quite challenging to go to Mexican restaurants because your only options are beans/cheese/rice. However, there is a rather extensive list of vegetarian options on Frontera's menu. I had the veggie fajitas and they were delish! They consisted of squash, broccoli, onions, mushrooms and other assorted vegetable goodness! I've attempted ordering "Chicken fajitas - hold the chicken" at other Mexican restaurants - and what you're left with is a pile of greasy tomatoes, peppers, and onions.... not too appetizing. Also,t he salsa and chips were very good and the guacamole was off the charts! We recommend Frontera!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontera Mex-Mex Grill also viewed

 

Been to Frontera Mex-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing