We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Hampton Inn I've stayed at...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Commerce
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Commerce
Reviewed November 27, 2013

...and it still gets two stars because it's a Hampton and wasn't THAT bad. Just a few major problems:

1. Arrived at 11 PM after traveling since 6 AM; received key; went to room. Bed is pulled down and pillows rearranged; there's a used towel in the bathroom. We're thoroughly sketched out so we go back to the front desk and ask for a different room. The girl hems and haws and then finally says "do ya'll mind waiting like 20 minutes and I'll get that room fixed up?" We're like, "Uh, absolutely not - we want a room right now." More hemming and hawing. Finally get a key to a proper room - but were left wondering what had happened in the other room - and if they actually cleaned it properly for the person who got it.

2. We were here for a wedding, and they never gave us the wedding package that was left for us. Okay, this seems minor, BUT there was important info (i.e. times for a bus to the wedding), and it ended up causing mass confusion. Just unnecessary, considering the box of wedding packets was behind the counter the whole time.

3. The place is a bit old and worn (as many others have said), and the room was pretty musty. The AC unit was horrendous - could not switch it to just stay on, so it cycled non-stop all night and was SO LOUD!!! Every other Hampton I've stayed at has definitely been much nicer.

For the price ($79) I suppose I shouldn't complain, but I'd honestly rather they try a little harder and charge a little more. I only chose to stay here over the Comfort Inn because I wanted the points - in the end it was a poor choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_ADK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We had this review removed but was reinstated .
We diasgree with your opinion of our hotel since you prefer to promote our competition in your review. The wedding contact did not make us aware of your claim about any travel arrangements which must have exaserbated your opinion of our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Needed a stop enroute home from business trip, after lengthy late-night interstate delays. This hotel offered a convenient location and an excellent price for a large, comfortable, and clean room. Friendliest and most helpful hotel staff that we've encountered in a long, long time. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel . We appreciate your feedback and that you enjoyed our service and hospitality here in Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Waffles, did you say Waffles. Ok so the stay was great. Everyone was helpful...And the Waffles were great as always. Beds were comfortable, and the water was hot in the morning, just like the coffee. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Yes we said Waffles!

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Staff was great. Beds were a huge disappointment. Extremely uncomfortable, therefore we had a poor nights sleep and got up with aching bodies. No fridge or microwave in rooms. Rooms were rather small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Retha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback on our service levels but apologize regarding the bedding. We do have microwave and fridges in some not all of our rooms. We will be purchasing more microwave/fridges in 2014 for our guests based on feedback such as yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had driven for 12 hours from NJ to Georgia on way to Alabama to visit son. Room was spotless, comfortable, and perfect! Ate some dinner, did a little shopping. Area was easy to find everything, a lot of restaurants and shops, made wife very happy! Laid down to sleep and went to dreamland. Had a good 10 hours sleep! I usually make 6! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George BooBoo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We appreciate your great feedback and that you had a great night's sleep and that you enjoyed your stay with us in Commerce

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip back through Georgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed here several times with no major problems, but the last time was unpleasant. I reported a chirping smoke detector and was asked to take it down myself and sit it by the TV. I was told the manager would have to buy some batteries to replace it. It was not replaced during my stay. I woke up one morning to find a large, dead roach on my bathroom counter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Princeton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent review, Your comments have been passed onto our management team and pest control company. We apologize that we did not take care of these issues prior to your departure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year. The hotel and rooms are always very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend. Also, we have always been able to get a great deal on Priceline.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Hampton Inn Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recnet review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and that you find us great value for money here in Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Commerce
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Commerce
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Commerce
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Commerce by Tanger Outlets Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
484 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Commerce

Address: 153 Hampton Ct, exit 149 off I-85, Commerce, GA 30529-6688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Commerce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range: $112 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Commerce 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior corridor hotel, completely renovated in 2016. Next door to Tanger Outlet and Atlanta Motor Speedway, Travel Centers of America, Quiktrip. Safe walking distance to Long Horn Steak House, Super WalMart. Less than 15 minutes to Athens-UGA/Sanford Stadium/Classic Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commerce Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing