We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two little flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Commerce
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two little flaws”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

A fine motel. Those of us who remember the days when motels were cabins by the side of the road and you had to put 25 cents in a slot to get two hours of radio reception shouldn't complain about anything, but the HIE had two little flaws. One is that the wifi signal didn't get all the way to our room at the end of the hall on the second floor. (The one from the Fairfield Inn across the street was made it, but I didn't know the password.) The other is that the breakfast orange juice was severely watered. I stayed at a different HEI recently and the same was true--evidently, it's company policy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    16
    8
    19
See reviews for
29
20
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We decided to stay in Commerce rather than drive in to Atlanta on our first day on the road. This was a nice place to stay. Thee are all kinds of shopping and restaurants nearby, some with in walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, GA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed here over the weekend on business and it is a nice hotel with everything you need. Staff was very nice also. I was very pleased and it is definitely one of the top places to stay in Commerce. I usually stay at the Best Western which is nice, but the Holiday Inn Express is nicer. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wofiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We were given very personal attention by the motel clerk.

Very nice pressure in the shower and comfortable bed.

Motel is older but was good for the price.

  • Liked — Personnel were outstandingly helpful
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank New_grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

As a college student I'm not too picky about where I stay, and for the most part the condition of the hotel is not the issue. When we arrived the manager/front desk attendant was not friendly or polite, she was short with us and not welcoming at all. We got our keys and moved all our stuff into our room. While the room was marked "Non-Smoking" it definitely had been a smoking room and reeked of stale cigarettes. Since we had gotten the room very cheaply through a website we didn't see a point in complaining. I went to use the bathroom and there was a residue on the toilet seat. After I wiped it down (thinking it might be from a cleaning product, I planned on mentioning it to the manager later but again, why make a fuss?) and went to flush the toilet, and it didn't work. We went down to tell the manager and she put us in another room, she did not apologize for the inconvenience of moving all our stuff to the opposite side of the hotel.
The next room was much better, and I thought we were good to go. Which we were, until our last day. We were watching TV in our room when there was a knock on the door, even though we had our Do No Disturb tag up since we didn't need room service. Before we could respond, some one opened our door, only as far as the chain would allow, apologized and shut the door. Weird. After we got back from breakfast our card didn't work, so we went to the front desk because we thought it had gotten demagnetized or something in his wallet. At the front desk the manager informed us we were supposed to have checked out at 11, only our reservation was for one more night. She never confirmed with us when we checked in when we would be leaving, she just checked us in for two nights at the price she wanted to charge. She told us that our reservation was only for two nights and we could pay for the third night. My boyfriend made the reservation online and got 3 nights for $40 each, and she had charged us for 2 nights at $60 each, this is why he didn't catch the length of stay discrepancy. He paid anyway because she was not being accommodating at all. When we got back to our room he double checked our reservation online, in case he had done something wrong, but his confirmation email read exactly what we had told her. He took his laptop down to show her (he didn't have a print out, which I admit is his fault) and she wouldn't accept it. When he went down a little later she said it had been cleared up, we're just waiting for the charge to reverse. Also, later in the afternoon the same guy (probably an owner or manager) who knocked and opened the door previously, did the same thing, only this time we didn't have the chain on and he almost walked right in.
I was not happy with our experience and I will definitely never stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Commerce hotels

eyeznthyz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I am just so confused how you can have reservations to arrive, and recieve your key with prompt attention & service to go to a room that is horrible looking. Both beds unmade, towels ont he floor, and trash. Make no mistake I am sure that all house cleaning may run slow sometimes. But it is not their job to make sure rooms are field it is the front desk and management that should double check things. Then to get another room that was DISGUSTING...Sink falling off the wall, bath tub extremely dirty, the packages of soap, shoer cap, sahmpoos etc...were so dirty on the package. Then there is the dried snot and bugers on the wall by the toilet paper holder. The coffee pot was was filthy I had to walk to get a cup else where. Just an all around disappointment. I hope that these complaints get to the proper people so that they can make some changes!!

  • Liked — nothing really
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eyeznthyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

This is a great off-the-interstate hotel. Across the street from the outlet malls. Plenty of food options...The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Bathroom is also on the larger side. Our room wasn't a suite, but we still had a microwave and refrigerator that worked. No complaints at all.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank mooky217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Commerce hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Commerce
Comfort Suites Commerce
#1 of 15 in Commerce
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Commerce
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Commerce by Tanger Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Commerce
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Commerce
Hampton Inn Commerce
#9 of 15 in Commerce
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Commerce Inn
Best Western Commerce Inn
#4 of 15 in Commerce
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA
Address: 30539 Highway 441 S, Commerce, GA 30529-6366 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Commerce-Tanger Outlets)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Commerce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Country Inn & Suites Commerce, Georgia is located immediately off Interstate 85 at Exit 149. This beautiful property is located within walking distance of the Tanger Outlets and several area restaurants. Minutes away from the Atlanta Dragway, and a short drive to Athens, home of the UGA Bulldogs. The Country Inn & Suites offers 62 guestrooms which include both standard and suite style rooms. Upgraded Jacuzzi suites are also available. In room amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, hairdryers, and free high speed internet. A complimentary deluxe breakfast is served daily. The hotel also boasts of an onsite fitness center, indoor pool, and a 24 hour business center. Nearby local attractions consist of the Tanger Outlets, the Craven Pottery, University of Georgia at Athens, Atlanta Dragway, Lake Lanier, Atlanta Falcons, and Braves Baseball. The new Country Inn & Suites is the perfect overnight choice when visiting the Commerce, GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Commerce-Tanger Outlets
Holiday Inn Commerce
Commerce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing