We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Commerce
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was less than a mile from Tanger outlet. It is a quick trip into Athens for a Georgia game. The hotel room was very clean. The breakfast area was well maintained and plenty of selection to choose from. My son loved the automatic pancake maker.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScienceguyofTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Upon check-in at the Holiday Inn in Commerce, GA with a reservation of a King Suite. I advised Michelle the Front Desk Clerk that I had a service animal and had documentation. She immediately became rude and was ignorant to the fact that a service animal was different from a pet.
She downgraded our room to a standard double in a “dog room”. Of course I was not happy about that, since I am a loyal Holiday Inn Platinum member, and attempted to explain regulations regarding service animals. She at that point called me a liar and was more concerned with her own job, as it seems she should be.
I asked for a Manager, and she said “oh I have contacted the manager” I said, “well may I speak with her or when will she be here?” Michelle then said the manager has other hotel things she is doing. So, I could be waiting here for hours with no room! I did look at the double room and it was tiny and reeked of cigarette smoke. My husband is 6’2” and we reserved a King room. No king beds were in the “dog area”. After one more encounter with Michelle insulting me, she only offered to cancel the reservation.
I have never encountered such a rude, obtuse person, with zero customer service skills. I have never had any type of problems traveling with a service animal and will be contacting the American Disabilities Association regarding the matter. I advised Michelle, I would be contacting the Corporate office and she only laughed. This does say a great deal about the Holiday Inn brand image.
My husband noticed there was a Comfort Suites across the street. I went in Comfort Suites with no reservation, in tears, and Angie & Anna were so kind and took very good care of me. The also mentioned they have heard of this happening frequently at the Holiday Inn. As it turned out, the Comfort Suites was much nicer with a better atmosphere. I would highly recommend staying there instead.
Update: now I noticed I have a charge from Holiday Inn including $25 charge for pet fee. So, the charges for the room were not cancelled, now another hassle!!!
I don't think I will be staying at Holiday Inn again after this experience.

Room Tip: Recommend Comfort Suites across the street instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vickie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed on a Friday night and there was A LOT of traffic that night. One vehicle with a VERY loud muffler kept driving up and down the street outside.

Breakfast was good and hot. Room was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I and 38 other women stayed at this hotel for the purpose of doing ministry. We have stayed here before for the same purpose. The staff is consistently accomodating, friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean, and the free breakfast has many tasty and healthy choices. The shopping outlets are very close to the hotel for someone who wants to shop.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a fairly standard Holiday Inn hotel. Updated decor, clean, good location and free breakfast. Pros: they had true queen size beds, although squeaky and not the most comfortable. We used Priority Club points for our stay, the number of points needed was so low we consider this an outstanding deal. If you are able to book using points and can get a great deal like we did - book it you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Pros :

-The suite with couch is a spacious room
-Breakfast was nice
-Comfortable mattress

Cons:

-Third floor was a "partial" smoking floor. The middle rooms were non smoking. On either end of the hall there were enclosed glass doors to the smoking rooms. Of course we smelled the smoke anyway. Didn't realize what was going on until late at night.
-Room was very dark
-Beds creaked with the slightest movement
-Crinkly plastic mattress pads (I think). Was afraid pull the bed apart to check.
-VERY close to a busy road. Since this is North Georgia heard loud mufflers all night long.
-Lots of minor things wrong with room - slow draining tub, bathroom door hard to close, "commitment to service" placard in bathroom was filthy and had paint drips on it, switch on nightstand light didn't work (we had to unscrew the bulb to turn it off)
-Surprisingly expensive compared to other HI Express' in similar areas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantfindausername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

cantfindausername,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here while my husband attended school. Very clean, nice staff. Would stay again.

1  Thank Chrsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Commerce hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Commerce
Comfort Suites Commerce
#1 of 15 in Commerce
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Commerce
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Commerce by Tanger Outlets Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Commerce Inn
Best Western Commerce Inn
#4 of 15 in Commerce
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Commerce
Quality Inn Commerce
#7 of 15 in Commerce
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Commerce
Hampton Inn Commerce
#9 of 15 in Commerce
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA

Address: 30539 Highway 441 S, Commerce, GA 30529-6366 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Commerce-Tanger Outlets)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Commerce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range: $102 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Country Inn & Suites Commerce, Georgia is located immediately off Interstate 85 at Exit 149. This beautiful property is located within walking distance of the Tanger Outlets and several area restaurants. Minutes away from the Atlanta Dragway, and a short drive to Athens, home of the UGA Bulldogs. The Country Inn & Suites offers 62 guestrooms which include both standard and suite style rooms. Upgraded Jacuzzi suites are also available. In room amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, hairdryers, and free high speed internet. A complimentary deluxe breakfast is served daily. The hotel also boasts of an onsite fitness center, indoor pool, and a 24 hour business center. Nearby local attractions consist of the Tanger Outlets, the Craven Pottery, University of Georgia at Athens, Atlanta Dragway, Lake Lanier, Atlanta Falcons, and Braves Baseball. The new Country Inn & Suites is the perfect overnight choice when visiting the Commerce, GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Commerce, GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Commerce-Tanger Outlets
Holiday Inn Commerce
Commerce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing