We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT VISIT...”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Commerce
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Spartanburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT VISIT...”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Always great BBQ and service here at Sonnys. Plenty of food and drink at a great price. Real BBQ chicken looks pink but taste excellant...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GREATMOPAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    22
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Area
Level Contributor
231 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Sonny's is not bad BBQ for a chain BBQ restaurant. The meat is always fresh and tender. Not too smokey. Sides are fair. Staff is friendly.

Helpful?
Thank GaHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Close to hotel and excellent service. The food was plentyfull and tasted good. It did not take long for order to come.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love Sonny's”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Always good BBQ. Always good service. Food fresh and hot. Love the dry ribs. Eat here everytime in area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nvky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellvue, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staff is great.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The prices are high, the portions are large though, the food is only average. Much better places in the area to get BBQ. Nice atmosphere overall.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing