We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our visit was for my son graduating from Fort Benning,Ga. Upon arrival, we had no idea where and how to get to our destination, so we called from our cell phone, and they had given directions and we arrived without any complications. We had gotten there an hour early, and they had no problems with us checking in that early. Service very nice people. Breakfast was a good start of the day, especially with it being FREE. On day of leaving, we had even better departure then checking in, but we had the same frontdesk personel, which was very nice also. Thank you guys for making our stay very pleasent. I would recommend this place....

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernie02, Assistant General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Ken K.,Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete a review.Congradulations on your son's graduation from Fort Benning.Also,it was our pleasure to make sure you received explicit driving directions to the Howard Johnson.It was our pleasure to assist you in an early checkin after a long trip.We hope to see you again if you ever return to Columbus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

My stay at the Columbus Ho-Jo was great. The rooms are litle outdated and nothing to brag about but what makes this place was the service. Front desk was very nice! She was always wearing a smile and had a great sense of humor. The Head Housekeep (I think her name was Geraldine) was a hoot. She was VERY kind and offered to help me take my bags to my car...or course i didn't let her.
I could only imagine what this crew could do with an up-to-date property! Nice folks!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernie02, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Mr. Scott, thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson as your resting place while in Columbus Georgia, we can not thank you enough for your feedback concerning our facilities and we will utilitze your comments by continuning to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Again, thank you for making our hotel your home away from home, and we hope to see you again in the near future. We are waiting on your call!!


Sincerely,
Veronica Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we enjoyed our stay and plan on staying at the Howard Johnson again in October. The pool was fun and the breakfast was warm. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shane88, Assistant General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear Great Trip,Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.We're so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning again in October.It will be our pleasure to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.We are still experiencing nice weather in the Columbus area so you will be able to enjoy our salt water pool again.We look forward to seeing you again next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My stay at the Howard Johnson was a great experience. The front desk clerk was very very nice and she had a great sense of humor. I would recommend anyone passing by to stop and take a look at it. Breakfeast was also good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaleecia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shane88, Assistant General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Jaleecia,Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to do the Trip Advisor survey regarding your stay at our hotel.We know that you have a choice of hotels and we were delighted that you chose ours.Please note that your comments were extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it could possibly be.We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a very good experience at the howard johnson inn. We stayed there for the 36 hour pass for my fiance's company at fort benning. Everyone that worked there were VERY nice & helpful! We're going back to stay there when we go for my fiance's family day & graduation! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RMILES1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shane88, Assistant General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear R.Miles,Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to to respond on the Trip Advisor survey.Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.Our goal is to not only meet the needs of every guest we serve,but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.It was indeed a pleasure to know that we made your stay home away from home.We salute our soldiers and all military are always welcome.We look forward to seeing you again for family day and graduation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My stay at the Howard Johnson, was one of the best experiences I've had in a long time. It was actually my 6 yr anniversary, and the ladies at the front desk were extremely kind to my wife and I. Thk u to Ms. Shane Beesley (asst. Gm) and Mrs. Geraldine McFolley (director of housekeeping). U ladies made our stay great! Thks again

Brian Odoms

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dollabill7953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shane88, Assistant General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Mr.Odom,Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of Howard Johnson regarding your stay on your anniversary.Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to continue creating an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.We know you have a choice in hotels and we were delighted that you chose us for your very special occasion.We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The moment I walk into the room it was breath stopper. Immediately I felt nasal sinus blockage. It felt like mildew was at it's prime. The bed, the covers all had this particular smell, the bathroom is outdated not well clean, I could see hair on the bathroom floor from previous guess. It's very unfortunately that the management are not making a most desirable effort to keep up with this hotel, considering that Uptown Columbus is just few blocks away from this location and military facilities are not far away.
This could be a great hotel if more time & effort is involved towards a very needed it improvement. I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are not clean, very dirty.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shane88, Assistant General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

I want to take this oppurtunity to apologize for the poor service you received at the Howard Johnson.Your experience with our hotel was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to you.Our Howard Johnson promise is something that we strive to deliver to every guest everyday.There is no excuse that our staff did not fulfill that promise in your case.Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.Again,we do apologize and please believe your concern will allow us the opportunity to reinforce our procedures with each and every housekeeper.I sincerely hope that you will reconsider staying at the Howard Johnson if your travels ever bring you back to the Columbus area.We are proud of our hospitality and love to show it off.We fully understand your frustration in the matter and each of your concerns will be addressed to ensure from reoccurance.Again,please allow us an opportunity to serve you in the future. With appreciation,Shane Beesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.4 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 47 in Columbus
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 47 in Columbus
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 47 in Columbus
209 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 47 in Columbus
212 reviews
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#24 of 47 in Columbus
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA

Address: 1011 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $54 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Columbus
Columbus Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing