We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed December 5, 2007

After several unpleasant situations in the Atlanta airport, and a long unfamiliar drive to Colubus, Amy, the front desk manager, greeted me with smiles and understanding even though I must have appeared stressed out. She went out of her way to direct me to each location that I needed to go. She provided maps each time, (even though I had one from before in my room) took the time to draw routes for me. It made my visit to Ft. Benning to see my son graduate from Boot Camp, alot less stressful.....thank you Amy and your outstanding Housekeeping staff!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frog2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2007

stayed there for my sons family day pass. room was clean and had everything we needed.staff was very helpful.they even gave a little speech about what we had to do to get on to the base.very knowledgable about ft. benning proceedures! great breakfast!was very surprised by this place.will stay again for graduation!!!

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank soldiersmomNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Do not stay here if safety is important to you!!! I woke up in the middle of the night and there was a man standing over the nightstand between the two beds!!!! I was there with my college softball team so when he told us to give him what ever we had, we didn't have anything to offer him but some uniforms and equipment. He finally left after what seemed like forever! The staff acted like it was just another night at the Howard J, no apology or anything. The next morning, to top it off, a man was beating a woman in the parking lot! Just don't stay here OK!

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ohnoyoudidnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Albuquerque, New Mexico
12
Reviewed February 27, 2006

I stayed for a couple of days and was really disappointed. Every time a toilet would flush anywhere in the hotel the shower would turn scalding hot. This happened every 30 seconds or so for every shower we took. The floors were filthy and housekeeping would do as little as possible and if you left even ten minutes after they knocked on the door your room would not be cleaned at all. It was hard to sleep because you could hear every noise from the pipes to the parking lot. I have to make a return trip next month and will definitely stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Georgia
12
Reviewed February 19, 2006

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel because the rates were reasonable. My mistake...
The tiny heating/cooling unit in our room did service to the space under our beds, but was otherwise useless. The beds were overly firm, the pillows.after years of use, were solidly compacted and had no cushioning power left, and the place was noisy; we heard pipes banging all night. One vending machine was out of order, another took our money. All of this would have been bearable if not for the nonchalant attitudes of the people behind the counter. They were quite pleasant until I wanted to talk to the manager about something unrelated to all of the above--not even a complaint. But he was non-existent. I later called from home with a question about my bill. Not a complaint, just a question. First, he was "in a meeting", then he was, according to one clerk, "out and about", not to return until the next day. No apologies offered, no empathy. I won't be back.

Stayed: February 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
11
Reviewed January 16, 2006

We would stay again. Very clean, modern and great service.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
atlanta, ga
11
Reviewed May 14, 2003

Good service, nice room. My stay was a nice one.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.4 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 47 in Columbus
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 47 in Columbus
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 47 in Columbus
209 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 47 in Columbus
212 reviews
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#24 of 47 in Columbus
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA

Address: 1011 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $54 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Columbus GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Columbus
Columbus Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing