We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn/Columbus/I85”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Tallahassee, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn/Columbus/I85”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This trip was to move our daughter up to Columbus State University. The location was our primary consideration (and the fact that I am a Holiday Inn points member).

The front desk staff was OUTSTANDING. She improved our rate (from the "guaranteed lowest price" on the web), and included breakfast. This is definitely "above and beyond" what she needed to do.

The room was OK.

The breakfast included was GOOD (not great, but good).

The breakfast services was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Bruce L,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is a great pleasure to learn about your experience with us and to know that you we were able to meet your expectations during your stay.. We always strive to provide the highest level of service to all our guests and we value your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    36
    28
    31
See reviews for
77
23
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel was not upkept very well at all. Dirty walls in the room as well as the halls. Very out dated decor in the room. 19th century dressers and chairs along wirh a 1992 microwave. pool was dirty and salty, elevators were in poor condition as well as the AC not functioning properly. The reviews I read that lead me to choose this Hampton were way over hyped. Surely not worth the 120.00 I payed. Will not be coming back. Only positive was the front desk. This is not the hotel to bring your wife or girl friend to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay19697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jay19697,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited Columbus for a tennis tournament with my son. This property was the tournament hotel so I assumed it was pretty good but upon entering the room found that it was pretty dated and definitely in need of some TLC. Staff were courteous and accommodating with our issues like the lock breaking on our door so maintenance had to pick the lock and install a new one which left us in the hallway for about 45 minutes. Rain left carpet in the room soggy and musty due to water pooling on the balcony with a view was a brick wall. Made the room feel really dark and claustrophobic. Sunday we left the room at 7 am and after returning late in the day our room was still not made up. Guy came in to soak up water in carpet but it was still wet and musty. After new lock was installed we had to go back to front desk several times, wait in line and have card re-programmed to get into room. Annoying. No offer to put us into another room etc. Would have been much happier at the fresher properties just down the street...

Room Tip: Ask not to be facing a brick wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Perry J,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, but we regret that this was not the case on this visit. I apologize for the inconvenience you may have had with the room you were given and if the amenities' condition was substandard. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and we'll have this passed on to management to consider for upgrades needed.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed in Holiday Inn for 3 weeks. The staff were very courteous and the rooms were spacious.
The hotel is near Peach Tree Mall and have several restaurants in walking distance.
Tracy and team were approachable and provided a great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manojvmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice hotel, GREAT staff and great food! We went to Columbus for a graduation at Fort Benning. We got a wonderful, discounted rate mentioning our reason for staying when making reservations. We had 3 rooms and were a little disappointed that we were in a section of the hotel that was being used by a company for their workers in the area. Our rooms were not side-by-side but within a few doors of each other which was okay. When the guys came in from work, they congregated outside their rooms which happened to be on either side of us regardless of which of the 3 rooms we were in. They were polite about moving from in front of our rooms but it wasn't the best arrangement. We did not ask to be moved because the hotel was VERY helpful in allowing us early check-in and it really wasn't that big a deal. I would just mention when making reservations ask to be in another section of the hotel. There is a delicious breakfast buffet and the staff is exceptional. They seemed to treat everyone as if they were their only customer of the day.....couldn't have been better! 2 of us chose not to go out to dinner one night so we went to the Sweetwater Café located in the lobby of the hotel. Again, another WONDERFUL bunch of staff! Happy Hour offered free spinach dip with chips and 2 for 1 drink options...good deal, but not the best news. The best part was the fish and chips!!! As good as any I had when in England! Wonderful service, wonderful staff - I don't see how you can go wrong at this location! Oh, by the way, the pool area is VERY inviting and comfortable.

Room Tip: Be sure to see if there is a company using the hotel for their workers and ask to be located elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Move here from another place (Econolodge) nice place but had a couple of points... We were having a few beers in the lounge and aske the bar maid if we could change the channel, she asked the other guy in the bar and he was fine with it. 2 beers later the bar tender walked in and changed the channel without asking anyone!!!! What a jerk.
Also the lounge bathrooms had no air conditioning and paper, that night or the next day. The computers didn't not work and the wireless in the back was very slow.

Fine for a quick in and out but not family or groups.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank skidoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Staff absolutely outstanding. From front desk to housekeeping to management - every single employee is warm, friendly and accommodating. I left a computer charger behind and within 3 days it was posted back to me thanks to Veronica and Charlie in the housekeeping department. Furthermore they wanted no compensation for their efforts. I have stayed there several times in the last few months and it feels like coming back to stay with friends rather than a hotel. Tracey Nierode leads the team from the front and I will continue to stay there due to the fantastic atmosphere. The rooms have been redone and admittedly there are small signs of older work with the odd broken socket or crack in the drywall but nothing serious at all. Food in the restaurant is average but there is no doubt that every member of staff is there for the guests service which sets them apart from the largest majority of hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GraemeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 46 in Columbus
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#24 of 46 in Columbus
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 46 in Columbus
209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#32 of 46 in Columbus
114 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbus Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 2800 Manchester Expy, Columbus, GA 31904-5210 (Formerly Holiday Inn Columbus North I-185)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus North i-185 Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus Ga
Columbus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing