We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty”

Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Richmond, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our son rented two rooms for our family to share for 2 nights at this hotel when our grandson graduated from Ft Benning earlier this month. It was pouring when we arrived which didn't help, since the stairway to our room was closed, we had to use the one at the other end farthest from our rooms. Don't expect to go swimming in the pool, there was no water in it. Never did see the game room. Fortunately we didn't find any bugs in the room, but shady characters were plentiful. The continental breakfast was gone by 8:00. We were relieved to get out of there and head home. Never NEVER again!!! This place doesn't even deserve the 1 rating that you have to give to sumbit the review.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    5
    33
See reviews for
16
8
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Its the kind of hotel that probably has an hourly rate if you know what I mean. We showed up and left immediately. Terrible neighborhood. Shady guests. Filthy rooms. Honestly I am surprised that kayak has it on its site as its that bad!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband is currently awaiting orders, so we needed a place to stay within our BAH budget and that had good perks. We stayed at the ValuePlace down the street, and preferred this place more. Its a little outdated, but if you can look past that you will do okay. We didnt expect a 5 star place for $250 a week... But it has good cable, free wifi, daily housekeeping and breakfast. The beds are comfy, staff is friendly. The new management is doing well. - my only complaint is that I would prefer a more updated bathroom and newer carpet because the carpet in there is very old. Overall, we had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed here a few times because of how close it is to Fort Benning, but the experience continues to get worse. Some rooms are OK, but some are nasty. The front desk staff are downright rude and they will lie to you. I needed a place that had Internet access for the work I needed to get done. I asked about their wifi BEFORE getting a room and they told me there are no problems with it. I paid for a room, got into it and tried to get on the Internet and it didn't work. I went back to the front desk and the SAME lady told me that they have been having problems all day. I asked her to refund my room and they told me since it had been longer than TEN minutes they would not. I asked her why she lied to me about the Internet and she said she didn't and refused to admit any fault or help me in any way. The next day when I was checking out, the manager told me that my computer was broken and that the Internet was fine... Needless to say, I will never stay there ever again after how I was treated and how gross my room was. Spend the extra $10 or $20 to get a nicer place with a clean room and customer service. Trust me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our fourth hotel to try in Columbus. I did not try it at first because of all the reviews I had read but my husband said to give it a try so we did. When we first arrived I was surprised at how nice the rooms were and how clean. You could tell the room was dated but it was decent and clean we stayed for a week. When leaving the hotel my only complaints were they advertise a hot breakfast and when i took our kids down all their hot breakfast consisted of was fruit and nutri grand bars. So that was a lie and the other thing is they advertise having a pool so got the kids all dressed and ready to go swimming walk to the pool and it was not operaring. So that was a bummer for them. Overall I would of recommended the hotel when leaving but after getting home me and my husband both realized we had ringworms on us! And have never had one before. The housekeeping never changed the bedding or sheets that whole week but I never thought anything of it so we will def never be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

It's a budget hotel outside a military base and seen better days but it was clean and cheap the staff was awesome. The rooms need updating but were larger than most. The bedding was very nice for the type of hotel. You can tell the staff cares. If your on a tight budget this is great compared to surrounding place. Yes would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stilltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I liked this hotel. Upon getting the room the front desk guy checked us in with a snap. He was very friendly and was very helpful to about tell ing where things are at in the city. He mad me and was very friendly. When me and my boyfriend got to the room I was a little dissapointed for the fact that we wanted to watch tv and there was no remote. So we had to keep getting up and down to change the volume and the tv. I like the fact that it had a fridge and microwave in the room and it was mintues from resturants. The room apperance overall was ok. But the bed was not what I expected for $57. Also the bathroom could've been updated better as well. I also loved the curtains and the door could've been a lot better for some reason the door didn't feel like it was close and secure if felt very jiggly. But over all i feel that i probably wouldn't stay here again. I don't feel like it worth the money for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Necia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
1.2 mi away
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 2
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning

Property: Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning
Address: 3170 Victory Dr, Columbus, GA 31903-1811
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning 1.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Inn at Ft. Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Inn At Ft. Benning Hotel Columbus
Columbus Days Inn
Days Inn Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing