We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT expect internet or local phone and other things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Columbus,GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT expect internet or local phone and other things”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

So far it's ok EXCEPT the "fast internet" BLOWS. It is a cat5 cable to the wall and I get like .025 kbps download and .0005 kbps upload. So NO WI-FI which means NO TABLETS/PHONE or laptops without a ethernet (cable) connection and it is SLOWER than 1X on a cell phone back in the early 90's and dialup (from the 80's) would be 50 times faster. They probably have just 1 ADSL line (probably 1Mbps) to share between every unit in both buildings (and there are 2, the one in the back is like 3 years old, so it's newer). They will nickle-dime you as in, don't plan on ever making a phone call from here...it's $0.30 a MINUTE, so use your cell (if you have anything other than Verizon you are [--] for service anywhere in the mountains of George/Alabama. Sprint blows and any roaming on them sucks too. AT&T is a joke here also and T-Mo/MetroPCS is like having NO CELL PHONE. Linen service, if you are going to stay more than one week go buy towels from Walmart and wash them so you save $10/week in 'Linen" charges. Anyway, it's OK here BUT there is only 1 elevator in the center of the building, but it's fast enough. The noise, as far as I can tell, has been minimal. Police have shown up a few times because some people here use this like a permanent apartment and not short-term housing, so the usual things happen. This is NOT a major city here, so EXPECT some short comings if you are used to things open 24/7 and the faster city life. They say they are going to upgrade the internet connection soon....ok, believe when I see it then I'll pay for it. TV channels are ok but you are NOT getting HBO1,2,3 or Cinemax/Showtime, you'll get Encore East/West, so still ok. For the price it's ok. Laundry facilities onsite at $1.25 wash/$1.00 dry so get quarters because there is no change machine. It's got a full size (18 cu ft) fridge, 1 cu ft micro, 2 burner stove, kitchen sink, full bath room, beds are ok. It's NOT going to be the Hilton at Downtown Disney (which cost me $150/night) in Orlando but for single working out of town, price is good. I will put some pictures up eventually because the 'staged' photos of hotels always make them look better than what is really there (and within the last 3 months). Have not had any bugs,etc. so pretty clean over all. Just need to see faster internet so I can stream netflix or something (can get Skype to work on the slower speed but that's different than surfin the net as far as network protocol is concerned in the ip stack,etc - if your non-techy then just understand it will Skype right now).
I am not dissin' this place, it's NOT run like a hotel but like a apartment building, so understand the "front desk" is open M-F 9a-6p and Sat 10a-2p and closed on Sundays, but some of the people who work here also live in the building, which is good. You will NOT be getting a made bed everyday or clean sheets/towels everyday, it's not again, the Hilton or DoubleTree. But in the end it's ok. In the end you get what you pay for and if you want that kind of service then it will cost more. I am brutally honest and have a problem of pissing people off when I tell my outlook on things but I am telling it the way I see it. So if the internet is upgraded while I am still here then I'll say it's a 3.5-4 stars out of 5 BUT right now it's like a 2.5 star. They do have flat screen tv's so you can hook your laptop to the HDMI port and watch Netflix on the tv.........WHENEVER the internet is faster...hahaha. Oh and this, if you are staying here you have to pay a $100 upfront deposit, give 24 hours notice BEFORE you leave to get your refund back and you pay by the week, so if you leave after 3 days, you will NOT get a refund because they charge by the week (or month) and not daily.
Understand this is short term (or long term with no credit check and no lease) and NOT a daily hotel.
Have fun.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You are right, you were brutally honest but that's okay. We appreciate honest feedback. We know that right now the internet speed leaves a little to be desired. We are in the process of updating the internet and getting WiFi at most of our properties, including Columbus. We hope that the next time you stay with us we will have the upgraded internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
22
5
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for such agood hospitality. Especiaaly i would like to than your esteem worker Natasha, she is very curteuos, professional, and pleasure to deal with. I am highly reccomend this hotel to all my soldiers and collegues who will come for training in the next half year to Ft. Benning. I also would like you nto know that Natasha is an asset to your Hotel, if she was my worker i would definitely promotes her. Thanks again
CPT. Amar

Room Tip: 2nd floor room are more quite than first floor. Do not reccomend 3rd Fl, unless you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raziel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your experience is what we strive to show every guest when they choose Value Place. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you for all the recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Floors were very dirty. My 4 year old likes to run around bare foot, and her feet were black... But, nice bathrooms and nice appliances, Wish we could have a little bit more counter space... I didnt really enjoy that EVERYTHING costed extra.... Towels, Internet, Housekeping.... It advertises 219.99 a week, but it ends up being really about 290 to include everything... The hallways always smelt like pot, and with small children I didn't like that. Staff was friendly, but this property is geared towards making a profit, not really towards service...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it when our guests let us know how their stay was. We are glad that we were able to meet your needs and we have addressed all of your concerns with our staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had made reservation through their website and had a confirmation number. We called the local telephone number the day before to let them know that we would be arriving at 3pm the next day. When we arrived the very pleasant woman told me that they had sold our room that morning!! She went on to explain having a reservation with a confirmation number didn't matter and no they had no rooms but we could come back in two days and maybe they would have one for that week.

Room Tip: because they don't honor internet confirmed reservations, you should never stay at any of their...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am very sorry that we did not have a room for you. Since we are an extended stay hotel this happens on occasion. We do not ask current guests to leave. We should have handled it differently at the property and that will be addressed. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Coming from the northeast, a hotel withOUT a kitchen, fridge and spacey room would cost somewhere from 400+ with tax and all. So to find this hotel with some pretty good amenities, and to pay a total of $240 for a whole week is pretty amazing. However, when I informed a few soldiers of where I was staying and they FREAKED OUT. They were pretty paranoid of its location. I personally saw no threat, but then again I am not from the area.
Tip: If you are bringing your own towels and don't need your sheets changed for the week you stay, ask about not having the linen charge. It wasn't worth the extra $.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, make sure you choose a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviews4Yous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are so pleased that Value Place met your needs. We take guest safety very seriously and have policies in place to ensure our guest and employee safety. We hope that you will visit us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The first building need extermination because of the roach infestation and the internet is horrible. other than those two negatives the value place is fairly nice. the staff are friendly although a guest complained to staff because i was using incents in my room!!! Guess its a crime to make your room smell good. Other than that the stay is ok but the price isnt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwaynes766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We strive to provide the best possible stay for the most affordable price. We are happy that overall you were pleased with your stay. We take all responses seriously and appreciate you taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Do not trust the staff especially the manager name Allen the is a snake in the grass. I and my old lady stayed their for 6 no I call an ambulance for her condition Ems & Police arrived the next Allen the P/ M evicted us and said the had smelled weed.That was a lie because the police would have search and file a report and confronted us that didn't happen. Then I had paided for the whole month and they didn't give me my money back for the Rm or my deposit back but it's not over yet I am using the legal system on them because this in not the first time this has happen @ this hotel this I know is for a fact avoid this like the plaque.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usvetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Our goal is to provide a clean and safe environment for our guests and maintaining a no tolerance drug policy is part of that commitment. If you send a separate email with your name and the dates of your stay, we will be happy to look into why your money was not refunded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.1 mi away
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 2
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#17 of 46 in Columbus
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 46 in Columbus
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1

Property: Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1
Address: 1801 Victory Dr, Bldg 1, Columbus, GA 31901-3444 (Formerly Value Place Columbus, Georgia (Victory Drive))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Value Place Columbus Bldg. 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Columbus Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing