We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Absolutely Great Little Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Absolutely Great Little Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a great find!

Ultra-clean and super friendly staff. (without following you around like 'Igor') Having just come down to Columbus for a concert after a business trip in Manhattan, I found my room to be gigantic in contrast to the hotel in NYC I had just checked out of. The only thing at all I can think of that could use improvement is the quality of the provided toiletries. They were of the $49 dollar-a-night-hotel, quality and surely didn't fit at this level of a property.

In Summary... Super service, super clean, great value and tons of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Fifth Floor Rocks! (I was in 518)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augusthelmsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENL7336, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We are glad the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms made such an impression on you! We are currently in the process of upgrading our amenities to Bath and Body Works products and should have the new products in place within the next couple of months. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    42
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
43
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

In town for the School of Americas protest and associated discussions, I decided to stay at this location, which was at the very north end of town in a commercial area with a number of chain restaurants. It seemed safer than much of Columbus. The reception staff were very friendly and eager to please; they even checked on whether or not I liked the room after checking in. Generally speaking, the hotel seemed very new and clean. I had reserved a King Suite, which was really just a sitting area plus bed. It was well worth it, though; it had a fridge for my beer, a cabinet for my pistachios as well as a microwave in case I needed to warm up some hair removal wax. While the sofa already looked a little worn, it was comfortable, and I was able to lie back on it and watch television and drink beer. The bed was also comfy, and I slept very well. The bathroom was nice and spacious, although the amenities were way too basic (the shampoo didn't really lather). I did use the jacuzzi next to the gym, but when I first went down, I had to have someone open the door for me. The jets were not working properly; only one had any strength. Also, the door to the outside was not open (they could not find the key), so the room was really too hot for comfort. I did use the gym in the morning and thought the treadmill and available towels were very nice. The breakfast was plentiful with a choice of eggs, meat, biscuits and gravy, cereal, bagels and decent coffee (available 24 hours). The tables were made of granite and had nice chairs. Overall, I was impressed at how nice the hotel was and would come back to stay in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stp0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENL7336, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate all the wonderful compliments! Thank you also for your constructive feedback about the jacuzzi tub and also the amenities. Maintenance has been made aware of the issue you experience with the jacuzzi tub, and I'm pleased to announce that we are switching our amenities over to Bath and Body Works products within the next couple of months! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff has exceeded my expectations throughout my stay. When the pay dryer broke, the staff dried my clothes in their laundry facility. When I left my rental car lights on, Ben at the front desk called room to room to find the car's driver. After I verified that it was my rental car, he said that he could arrange to get the car jumped if the battery was dead. (Fortunately, the lights weren't on that long so a jump wasn't needed.) Room service was excellent. The breakfast included fresh cinnamon rolls! The only drawback is the hotel is a little tricky to find because it's offset from one of the main roads. I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet stay in Columbus, GA.

Room Tip: Bring a clothespin if you get a room facing the parking lot. The parking lot lights are very bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great place to stay. Breakfast was so-so. Omelet was frozen and re-heated in microwave. Probably not uncommon for this class of hotel. Sleeping quarters was very nice. New hotel. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Good value. Comparable to other hotels in the area. Good location to the new mall in Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappycamper077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good experience. Hotel is new, clean, staff was friendly, room was clean and spacious. Comfortable bed. Very good stay. Would highly recommend. Basic outside pool with nice sitting areas. Inside jacuzzi. Couple of restaurants within walking distant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcozmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

this is a very special hotel. iv stayed here several times and i must say i really enjoy my self. from the warm cookies at check in to the great smiles on the staffs faces. everyone says hello and askes " how are you". they make you feel as if you are family. when you first walk in the lobby is sparkling and the fish tank is amazing! the rooms are very clean and the beds and pillows are very cozy. they have a great managers reception monday and tuesday and the breakfast was awesome and i will be back again and again this hotel is my home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reggie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for 5 consecutive nights and was pleasantly pleased with my stay. The hotel has a nice sized "outside pool" but a jacuzzi indoors. Hotel gym was lacking but the hotel is associated with the MaxFitness down the street which was a great free alternative. Service was excellent and any need or question I had was taken care of. The hotel has a managers hour at night Mon. - Wed with free beer and drinks with also two types of food that was basically a snack. The hour went by way to fast. Rooms were nice and comfortable but shower water pressure could be better. Restaurants, stores and a couple of bars are in the area. Hotel is about 10 Min. from FT. Benning. Overall I would recommend this stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatOne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus-North
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Columbus
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake
Address: 7336 Bear Ln, Columbus, GA 31909-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Your Stay at Our Comfortable Columbus, GA Hotel Our newly-built Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Columbus at Northlake is a perfect Georgia hotel for business and leisure travelers alike.Our Columbus hotel is conveniently located off of Interstate 1-185 and US Highway 80. You are sure to stay busy during your stay at our Columbus hotel, located near many of Columbus' best attractions such as the Coca Cola Space Science Center, Callaway Gardens and the Chattahoochee Riverwalk. Our hotel in Columbus, Georgia is also centrally located near numerous military installations, including Fort Benning, the National Infantry Museum and the newly-built Port Columbus Naval Museum. Along with being conveniently located close to many Georgia attractions, our Columbus hotel is also close to Georgia businesses such as AFLAC, TSYS, Blue Cross Blue Shield and Columbus State University. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy all the comforts of home and office at this hotel in Columbus, Georgia. There is a 24-hour Business Center for your business needs. Wake your family up to try our complimentary hot breakfast bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls, and spend the day by the heated, outdoor pool and spa. Start planning your visit to Georgia by booking your reservation today. You are sure to enjoy great Columbus hotel room deals and rates. We look forward to seeing you at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus at Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Columbus At Northlake Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing