We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rates and service”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Found this historic hotel to be extremely satisfying, as are all Marriotts that I have stayed at. The rooms are meticulous and comfortable. The staff is extremely courteous. The location is outstanding and close by the many sights, including the Chattahoochee Riverwalk, the historic Columbus Iron Works, Springer Opera House, and the wildly popular Uptown Columbus entertainment area. Not to mention being a very short drive to Ft. Benning's Infantry Museum. The attached Houlihans restaurant is great for a meal or drink.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustBill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your genuine feed back today concerning your recent visit to our "Historic Columbus Marriott Hotel". Our Staff Members in every Department, take great pride in providing the "very best of service" at all times! We look forward to your return for another wonderful visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 509 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has been almost the only full service establishment in Columbus for years, and has been both a Hilton and a Wyndhams before becoming a Marriott. I paid more than $200 a night for a five night stay, which is rather a lot for a small city such as Columbus. The internet is painfully slow, the fitness room small and sparsely equipped, and the food no more than ok. The old mill suites have a bit more individuality than the rest of the rooms but overall, it's no more than adequate, with no real flair. And there is one big hazard: in Columbus, two train lines run close to the hotel down regular streets, like trams or streetcars. Except these are huge freight trains crossing the river from Alabama or heading up from the coast, and they come with 200 decibel horns which they honk regularly as they pass - even at three in the morning. This hotel will only ever get one star for sleep quality unless and until it fits soundproof glazing. It is, however, in a great location, next to the charming historic district, the river walk, and the once-decrepit but now hugely transformed downtown area, which contains an arts centre, lively bars, some with live music, and boutique stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the least possible train horn noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your genuine feedback at this time and we do appreciate the time you have taken to provide this information. We do apologize for the "historic train whistles" you experienced as this downtown train track is positioned on one side of our Marriott Hotel. At times, we may have several trains pass our way throughout a 24 hour time frame. We do apologize for this and any other issues you experienced during your visit with us recently. We would certainly be honored to have you come our way again and please contact me direct anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed at this facility several times over the past few months, traveling with both large and small groups. Without hesitation the staff had a "can do attitude" from reservations thru check out. This is a professional team with a thorough knowledge of the hospitality business, surrounding areas, able to answer any question (with a smile), able to make guests feel right at home. The hotel has a wide variety of room types, from lovely historic suites to comfortable traditional well priced rooms. A lovely historic district is within walking distance and the downtown, also within walking distance, offers many eateries and eclectic shops. A farmer's market is a must see in season a few blocks from the hotel. This facility has an exceptional front desk staff, and guest services staff. This is the only place to stay in the Columbus area! I look forward to my next trip to The Columbus Marriott!

Room Tip: The historic suites and rooms in the mill area have quite a bit of charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our Historic Marriott Hotel. Our Staff Members do take pride in promoting special events and wonderful attractions in our area and we do hope we might add a special memory to your visit to Columbus! We look forward to your return again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff are friendly.
The location is reasonably central but a very loud train passes by just outside on occasion!
The bar/restaurant is typical limited American fare.
The internet speed is awful.
Overall the hotel is fine, clean, large rooms but it's all a bit dated.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor on the side of the hotel that's away from the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razzi-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your follow up and we do value feed back as we take pride in providing the "very best of service" to our guests at all times! As we are located in our Historic Downtown area and on the banks of the Chattahoochee River, we do have a train track that runs in the middle of the road on one side of our Hotel! It is exciting for the children to see and yes, loud at times. We have addressed our Internet issue and it is now working correctly at this time. Thank you again so much and we look forward to your return in the future with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is our second stay here. The first stay was good, not excellent. We had a good view and decent accommodations. This hotel is very convenient to downtown Columbus GA, but do not leave the grounds after dark. It is located one block from hundreds of government housing and the projects of Columbus!!! The restaurant is pretty good for hotel food, but mainly greasy delights.
Our second stay was a surprise for us because they lost our reservations and turned us away!!
This is our second stay, but third visit. This time they apparently gave us the rooms that Marriott forgot about! They have an amazing view of a rubber roof and air conditioning units, no view of the historic district as they advertise.The mold in the bathroom was unbelievable. The tiles were cracked and just dirty looking. Our refrigerator didn't work, the bed was itchy?? This morning I called the front desk because they supplied the room with one soap, and one conditioner..... I needed shampoo! The front desk lady told me "we don't have shampoo"!!!! Even motel 6 has shampoo, and it's only $39 a night, at Marriott's inflated $139, $159 @ $189 rates..... Shampoo should be a staple. Clean should be a staple!
In this small area of the world, buyer beware. There are much nicer accommodations in north Columbus. Do not risk Marriott losing your reservation and turning you away, or giving you one of the "moldy rooms". Dirty, dirty, dirty!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Travelright01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for this feedback and we have reviewed your comments with each Department Manager and staff members at this time. We do apologize for the issues you experienced and we could certainly be honored to have the opportunity to have you stay again with us in the future to provide the "very best of service" and a wonderful visit for you and your guests as well. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Columbus Marriott and I was blown away with the service!!! I'm kind of a "Hotel Snob" and service is really important to me and I must say that the service was outstanding. From the moment that my husband and I arrived the front desk staff was very polite and helpful. We were there visiting family and they gave us directions and told us some of the must see places to check out. I highly recommend this hotel and we will always stay there when we come to town!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you again for sharing your feed back on your visit with us and we are "so very proud of our Staff Members"!! It is truly an honor daily, to take care of our guests and we believe we have the most dedicated and genuine employees in Columbus, Georgia! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had a brief stay in September at the Columbus Marriott and I have never experienced the level of professionalism and courteousness in hotel staff ever before like I did there. From the front desk staff to the bellhop-every single need or desire was met!! They went above and beyond with every request and made me feel like I was their number one priority. I will definitely be booking there whenever I'm in Columbus!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinnywrapatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We look forward to your return in 2014 and again, it would be our pleasure to "provide the very best of service" to you and your guests! The surrounding downtown area continues to grow with new attractions and we are ready to help you plan a great time in Columbus again.*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $175 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing