We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here!”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
“Love it here!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've never been disappointed when I'm at the Columbus Marriott. The staff are very friendly and the onsite Houlihan's has great food and atmosphere. Highly recommend. The location is very close to all the night life that Columbus has to offer. You can take a cab or walk. The River Center is just around the corner to enjoy a show as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenkat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our downtown Historic Marriott Hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed our "delicious" Houlihan's Restaurant and especially the outdoor patio! We hope you may have the opportunity to return this Fall as we wll have a large screen TV on the outdoor patio for you to enjoy "Fall Football"!! The RiverCenter for the Preforming Arts is right across the street and wonderful shows and music productions are scheduled year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    120
    61
    34
    13
See reviews for
101
100
20
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In need of serious renovation. Room was clean enough, but shabby; maid service didn't come until at least 3 pm. Most ice machines out of order; elevators tempermental, as was a. c. RR tracks right outside window sounded like running thru room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for this important feedback and please know we have all ice machines in service at this time as well as all elevators in full operating status! Your guest room was located on our "Mill Side" of our Historic Marriott Hotel and the downtown Railroad Train runs twice a day right down the middle of the street on this side of the Hotel! We invite you to visit us again when possible and please enjoy staying on the Tower Side of the Hotel with 6th Floors of newly renovated guest rooms and you do not hear the train on this side of the Building!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel has a very odd feel to it, like you're in a dungeon or something. Restaurant's not so great (eat elsewhere), the lobby doesn't feel very clean and the staff isn't the friendliest.
However, for a last-minute choice while on a road trip, this wasn't a bad place to stop and sleep. We got a great deal on Hotel Tonight, so we weren't disappointed. The parking is good - steps outside the reception, and the location in downtown Columbus near restaurants and shops was good. If we stay in Columbus again, we'll probably choose another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our Historic Columbus Marriott and with being located in the center of downtown Columbus, we are glad you enjoyed the restaurants and shops that are within walking distance! We have our newly renovated "Tower Side" of the Hotel which provides a very modern decor theme, and our "Mill Side" of the Hotel, which was an original "Flour Mill" in the 1800's, provides a bit of history with orignal brick walls and high ceilings in our guest rooms! We look forward to your return and the opportunity to provide the very best of service from our Staff and a wonderful stay in our newly renovated guest rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I visited in February for a conference that was being held across the street. We had one of the most gorgeous rooms I have ever seen in a hotel. The old cotton warehouse brick walls make for a unique and somewhat romantic stay. The view out was by no means breathtaking, but the room itself was very nice. There is a restaurant/bar downstairs that serves as a great place to meet with friends. The bar stays open long enough to wind down after a day full of meetings. That atmosphere is great and the breakfast is pretty good. Knowing the area, I'm not too thrilled with this location, but then again I live 30 minutes from Columbus. Our vehicle was safe, but be sure you know your way around before venturing out if you don't know this city. My only real complaint was the shower. We had about 300 in attendance at the conference. The first morning we were there I woke up to take a hot shower. It was COLD! Apparently, over half of the attendance got COLD SHOWERS that morning. It's a hotel, they ought to know multiple showers will be happening each morning.

Room Tip: Get to know the city before venturing away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Historic Columbus Marriott! With our location centered in the downtown Business District, we do enjoy providing directions to many wonderful attractions and restaurants, as well as our close by Coporate Office Buildings. We do apologize for the hot water issue and this was quickly corrected by our Management Team. We look forward to your next visit with us. *
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I knew when I travled to Columbus that this proerty was the perfect destination. I also like the historic side of this proeperty and even stayed in a mill room. I loved the exposed brick wall and location of my room. If I travel back to Coumbus again I will choose this location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent visit here at the Historic Columbus Marriott located right across the street from the beautiful Chattahoochee River Walk! We are glad you enjoyed staying on the "Mill Side" of the Hotel as these rooms have the beautiful original brick walls and high ceilings! We certainly look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff in this hotel is some of the best and helpful I have ever encountered in travels worldwide. The hotel itself is unique, being built around an old mill. But it's the staff that make this place truly unique. Definitely recommended.

The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. And quiet. Bed was wonderfully comfy. The only complaint was the arctic quality comforter on the bed - far too hot for the South (or the arctic).

The pool is outdoors, which is fine in the South. It's nicely done and relaxing. No hot tub but plenty of places to relax.

It's an older property so you'll get the typical tiny bathrooms. They've been updated with rain showers and it's good enough.

The Concierge Room is a bit of a disappointment. It's small and jammed with tables and chairs for eating. No way to relax; eat and get out set up. But as with everyone else in the hotel, the staff welcomed you in as family. And the food was excellent. (Management - take out some of the tables and chairs - it will be a fabulous retreat then.)

A short walk from the hotel is a row of restaurants. The Riverwalk is just out the door. Down the street is a very interesting Civil War Naval Museum. All in all a nice respite in an unusual place.

Room Tip: Avoid low rooms next to the pool in the summer. The air conditioners seem like they could be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent visit with us and our "staff members all take pride in providing the very best of service" and we agree - it shows with how we take care of our guests! We are so pleased you experienced excellant service and I have shared your wonderful comments with our Staff.* With our recent renovations to our guest rooms and our Concierge Lounge, we appreciate your suggestions as well. We look forward to your return.*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my first visit to downtown Columbus in about 30 years. I drove through it a year ago, but ended up staying near the airport.

I really liked this hotel. It's converted from two warehouses. The alley between the two buildings is the new lobby area. Yeah, there's a roof and air conditioning.

The rooms were great with plenty of room. It's located at the end of the revived downtown area, which is a great location. There was plenty of places to choose to eat or just watch. It's a fun area.

My only complaint was the hallways were pretty warm. Obviously, there's no or little air conditioning there.

I did not eat at the restaurant because it is a chain, and I wanted something other than a chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_of_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. This Historic Property was one of the largest Flour Mills in the 1800s as we are just across the street from the Chattahoochee River! You may be interested to know we have just completed a refurbishment and our hallways are just as cool as our guest rooms now. Our Houlihan's is owned by our Company, Valley Hospitality, so please try us upon your next visit as you will see our Chef's touch is "delicious"! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Property: Columbus Marriott
Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901-2749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing