We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location In towm and unique property”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location In towm and unique property”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I knew when I travled to Columbus that this proerty was the perfect destination. I also like the historic side of this proeperty and even stayed in a mill room. I loved the exposed brick wall and location of my room. If I travel back to Coumbus again I will choose this location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent visit here at the Historic Columbus Marriott located right across the street from the beautiful Chattahoochee River Walk! We are glad you enjoyed staying on the "Mill Side" of the Hotel as these rooms have the beautiful original brick walls and high ceilings! We certainly look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    122
    61
    34
    14
See reviews for
101
102
20
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff in this hotel is some of the best and helpful I have ever encountered in travels worldwide. The hotel itself is unique, being built around an old mill. But it's the staff that make this place truly unique. Definitely recommended.

The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. And quiet. Bed was wonderfully comfy. The only complaint was the arctic quality comforter on the bed - far too hot for the South (or the arctic).

The pool is outdoors, which is fine in the South. It's nicely done and relaxing. No hot tub but plenty of places to relax.

It's an older property so you'll get the typical tiny bathrooms. They've been updated with rain showers and it's good enough.

The Concierge Room is a bit of a disappointment. It's small and jammed with tables and chairs for eating. No way to relax; eat and get out set up. But as with everyone else in the hotel, the staff welcomed you in as family. And the food was excellent. (Management - take out some of the tables and chairs - it will be a fabulous retreat then.)

A short walk from the hotel is a row of restaurants. The Riverwalk is just out the door. Down the street is a very interesting Civil War Naval Museum. All in all a nice respite in an unusual place.

Room Tip: Avoid low rooms next to the pool in the summer. The air conditioners seem like they could be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent visit with us and our "staff members all take pride in providing the very best of service" and we agree - it shows with how we take care of our guests! We are so pleased you experienced excellant service and I have shared your wonderful comments with our Staff.* With our recent renovations to our guest rooms and our Concierge Lounge, we appreciate your suggestions as well. We look forward to your return.*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my first visit to downtown Columbus in about 30 years. I drove through it a year ago, but ended up staying near the airport.

I really liked this hotel. It's converted from two warehouses. The alley between the two buildings is the new lobby area. Yeah, there's a roof and air conditioning.

The rooms were great with plenty of room. It's located at the end of the revived downtown area, which is a great location. There was plenty of places to choose to eat or just watch. It's a fun area.

My only complaint was the hallways were pretty warm. Obviously, there's no or little air conditioning there.

I did not eat at the restaurant because it is a chain, and I wanted something other than a chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_of_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. This Historic Property was one of the largest Flour Mills in the 1800s as we are just across the street from the Chattahoochee River! You may be interested to know we have just completed a refurbishment and our hallways are just as cool as our guest rooms now. Our Houlihan's is owned by our Company, Valley Hospitality, so please try us upon your next visit as you will see our Chef's touch is "delicious"! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our vacation touring the southern states. It was a very nice room - clean and spacious. On our first night there was a disturbance (very noisy guests) for a while in the early hours. When raised with reception the next day I was given a reduced rate for that night - good customer service. We ate in Houlihan's in the hotel one night and it was fine. So no complaints - a good option for downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this very positive feedback regarding your recent visit here wtih us and I have passed your compliment on to our "Housekeeping Department" as well as "Houlihans"! I would like to apologize on behalf of the Hotel for the noise issue and we would like to offer an upgrade upon your next stay here at our "Historic Marriott"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Mo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a modern full service Marriott property connected to an old grist mill that they have turned into a number of rooms and suites. We stayed in the old part and loved it - all modern with a touch of the old. Everyone at hotel was as nice as could be and made us feel right at home. The town is a pretty nice place to visit and we will stay at this Marriott every time we return. Property's location also great as can walk to anyplace downtown/river walk from there.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the grist mill part - very unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our "Historic Hotel" and our beautiful RiverWalk right across the street on the Chattahoochee River! I am so glad you enjoyed being able to walk to many wonderful sites in our downtown area, from the Hotel. Thank you for sharing that you felt right at home as our Staff Members always look forward to providing the "very best of service"! We hope you will plan a trip our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Started our trip - staying at a "Not-so-Nice Hotel"
Husband called and spoke with the front desk about changing Hotels.
Christopher at the front desk was very professional and extremely helpful.
He Helped us book - and we checked out of the Not-so-Nice place and drove over here!
The Hotel and Suite is BEAUTIFUL!! The Marriott took a "So-So" Experience and turned it into an AMAZING Experience!!! Suite is Clean, Roomy and fit our family perfect! Thank you for the wonderful hospitality while spending our night in Columbus, GA!!

Room Tip: If you're traveling to or through Columbus GA - Make sure you Stay here!! We stayed in a Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited the hotel while my son was attending a conference in the area. The area was great. Close to riverfront, conference facilities and Broadway. Lots of restaurants and a few shops. Saturday morning there was a street market. Went for a 15 mile bike ride along the riverfront. What fun.
The hotel was great and fit well into the area. Housekeeping was excellent. We had a noisy group next to our room and even though the hotel was fully booked they were able to move us.
Very accommodating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Property: Columbus Marriott
Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901-2749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing