We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columbus Marriott
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our vacation touring the southern states. It was a very nice room - clean and spacious. On our first night there was a disturbance (very noisy guests) for a while in the early hours. When raised with reception the next day I was given a reduced rate for that night - good customer service. We ate in Houlihan's in the hotel one night and it was fine. So no complaints - a good option for downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for this very positive feedback regarding your recent visit here wtih us and I have passed your compliment on to our "Housekeeping Department" as well as "Houlihans"! I would like to apologize on behalf of the Hotel for the noise issue and we would like to offer an upgrade upon your next stay here at our "Historic Marriott"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Columbus Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 489 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a modern full service Marriott property connected to an old grist mill that they have turned into a number of rooms and suites. We stayed in the old part and loved it - all modern with a touch of the old. Everyone at hotel was as nice as could be and made us feel right at home. The town is a pretty nice place to visit and we will stay at this Marriott every time we return. Property's location also great as can walk to anyplace downtown/river walk from there.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the grist mill part - very unique!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann O, Guest Relations Manager at Columbus Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our "Historic Hotel" and our beautiful RiverWalk right across the street on the Chattahoochee River! I am so glad you enjoyed being able to walk to many wonderful sites in our downtown area, from the Hotel. Thank you for sharing that you felt right at home as our Staff Members always look forward to providing the "very best of service"! We hope you will plan a trip our way again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Started our trip - staying at a "Not-so-Nice Hotel"
Husband called and spoke with the front desk about changing Hotels.
Christopher at the front desk was very professional and extremely helpful.
He Helped us book - and we checked out of the Not-so-Nice place and drove over here!
The Hotel and Suite is BEAUTIFUL!! The Marriott took a "So-So" Experience and turned it into an AMAZING Experience!!! Suite is Clean, Roomy and fit our family perfect! Thank you for the wonderful hospitality while spending our night in Columbus, GA!!

Room Tip: If you're traveling to or through Columbus GA - Make sure you Stay here!! We stayed in a Suite...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited the hotel while my son was attending a conference in the area. The area was great. Close to riverfront, conference facilities and Broadway. Lots of restaurants and a few shops. Saturday morning there was a street market. Went for a 15 mile bike ride along the riverfront. What fun.
The hotel was great and fit well into the area. Housekeeping was excellent. We had a noisy group next to our room and even though the hotel was fully booked they were able to move us.
Very accommodating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had the best experience ever !! Surrounding area and location are excellent and within walking distance to everything ! Had a slight bit of confusion at check-in, but the staff more than compensated by offering a free room upgrade ! Room was spectacular, clean, spacious and the perfect temp (summer heat) ! Would recommend to everyone and will definitely come again !

Room Tip: If you desire or need adjoining rooms, call in advance and make sure you are persistent ! Hotel was...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had an opportunity to travel with 16 teenage girls on a trip. The only peace of mind that I had for four days was the Columbus Marriott. The staff was patient and accommodating. The rooms were clean, the housekeeping staff and front desk staff provided a quality of service that is lacking in today's service industry. This is the place to stay if your trip is hectic or serene. The staff give you the peace of mind and quality that makes even total chaos be peaceful.

Room Tip: The best of the best in service in Columbus, Georgia is at the Columbus Marriott.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC_fromCaryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Columbus. It was very convenient to my business meetings. I found the staff very helpful, and my room was nice size, and clean.

A word of warning, please make sure your room is not facing the railroad tracks. My colleague was awoken around 4am as the train came through. I was on the pool side of the hotel and never noticed the noise.

They have a nice restaurant and Starbucks on premise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demetgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Address: 800 Front Ave, Columbus, GA 31901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $175 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing