We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The title says it all. I truly enjoyed my stay at the Hampton in Columbus, GA. I felt like I was at home, from check in to check out. The staff never made us feel like we were bothering them, they made us very comfortable and made us feel like we were family to them. I asked for a recommendation for a place to eat, not only were we given a recommendation but also a menu! They also were able to give me directions to my son's ceremonies on base! The ladies that worked the breakfast made sure that everyone was happy and that everyone had a place to sit. When they realized that they didn't they opened another room, and ushered them in and made sure they were well taken care of also. Check out time came and the gentleman at the front desk gave us information about what to expect at graduation and even told us that we would have plenty of time to load the car after the ceremony. He was right! Would we stay here again??? OF COURSE, if I ever go back to Columbus, GA, I will be making my reservations here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
9 Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the property. I'm so glad we made you feel at home. I hope Hope Hampton Ft. Benning will be your second home.... Thanks again and please come back and see us when you come back to Columbus Ga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    106
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
682
97
46
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Returned to Ft. Benning 40 years after graduating OCS for the daughter of great friends OCS graduation. Have traveled all over the world and know hotels. This Hampton Inn was outstanding! The room was very clean and all room amenities worked fine. The staff was excellent and the breakfast was good. An easy walk to the new Infantry Museum. Didn't get an opportunity to use the pool but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SCGillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for doing us a review. I'm so glad you were able to come back to Columbus after being away for 40 years and I'm really glad you stayed with us for such a special graduation. Please come stay with us again and you don't have to wait another 40 years to come back. Thanks again for staying with us ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I went to visit my son who graduated from army basic training and had a family day event before he started his armor crewman training! We had a great time and the hotel and staff were wonderful Excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quicy, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

New hotel. Great staff that are very willing to be of any assistance they can. The high volume of guests and their visitors never became an issue. Everyone was checked in/out with very little to no waiting. Layout of the common areas made you feel like you had your own space, but were close enough to engage with others if you wanted to. Rooms were quiet and beds were awesome. Staff helped me get to a pharmacy early in the morning on one of my stays, life savor! Really liked the special accommodation for handicapped access to the pool - picks them up and lowers them in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west carrolton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hampton by Fort Benning Georgia was excellent! It was so clean and the staff was very accomadating and kind..loved the cleanliness of the rooms and entire area and i also love the duvet covers being washed . The coffee bar and breakfast and snacks were great. the nonly problem was that the internet was down in the room and staff tried to get it fixed. booked a stay there in june : )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
6 Thank Dwaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for doing a great review. We try very hard to keep a clean property and nice bedding in the rooms. I look forward to seeing you again in june and you be safe during your trip back to see us.. Thanks again for your business and see you soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great staff they are warm, friendly, helpful. Making reservations with Paige was easy and she answered my questions completely. checking in with Susan and asking her questions about places to eat, where entertainment places were she provided very good directions. the directions to the Sand Hill Rec center were the best we had. When we checked out at 5 am we were offered coffee for the road. The ladies in the food area worked to clean up spills and keep cereal and fruit stocked for our breakfast. We felt as if we were in someone's home. We really did appreciate the staff. I would recommend this Hampton Inn to anyone. We will be back in June and look forward to our stay. If fact our whole family will be staying there all 10 of us. If you have a soldier at the Fort this is the place to stay...Convenient, quiet and great staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
5 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review. I really look forward to having all 10 of you stay with us in june, I promise I'll keep the light on for ya'll. I will pass on your great comments about paige and susan, they really work hard to satisfy all the needs of the guests. Please hurry back and be safe in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel...opened near Fort Benning army. (After the Fort Benning entrance sign...but before the check point.)
It is located on a hill, so you have to park and walk up the hill.
The decor was interesting. Hard to explain...lots of stone work. Nothing that I would have picked, but it was pleasant and clean.
The floor hallways were kind of bleak/stark and didn't really match the rest of the hotel decor.
The room was a little on the small side.
The water temperature and pressure was good.
Sharon at the desk went above and beyond. She was very, very nice.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do us a review. Sharon is a great desk clerk and I'll pass on your comments to her. Please come stay with us again when your in the Columbus area And thanks again for posting the pics....see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning

Property: Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Address: 2870 S Lumpkin Rd, Columbus, GA 31903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy friendly hospitality and a warm welcome at a great hotel in Columbus, GA, just seconds from Fort Benning Maneuver Center of Excellence at the Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning hotel. Our 2-time Enjoy friendly hospitality and a warm welcome at a great hotel in Columbus, GA, just minutes from Fort Benning Military Base at the Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning hotel. Located less than a quarter mile from the front gate of Fort Benning, our hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. Take in the history of the National Infantry Museum only a short walk away, or admire the military art and artifacts at the Port Columbus Civil War Naval Museum. Enjoy a stroll along the Chattahoochee RiverWalk, or explore downtown Columbus, GA and visit the birthplace of Coca-Cola. Unwind in a cozy and comfortable Columbus, GA hotel room equipped with a range of amenities, including a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, mini-fridge, free WiFi, a 37-inch flat-screen TV and a spacious work area. Join us each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a hurry, simply grab a free Hampton On The Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. If you're visiting for business, our friendly Hampton team members will be delighted to help plan your event in Columbus, Georgia in one of our two meeting rooms. Wind down after a busy day with a rejuvenating workout in the free fitness center or with a swim in the outdoor pool.Connie Award winning property is located less than a quarter mile from the front gate of Fort Benning, our hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. Take in the history of the National Infantry Museum only a short walk away, or admire the military art and artifacts at the Port Columbus Civil War Naval Museum. Enjoy a stroll along the Chattahoochee RiverWalk, or explore downtown Columbus, GA and visit the birthplace of Coca-Cola. Unwind in a cozy and comfortable Columbus, GA hotel room equipped with a range of amenities, including a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, mini-fridge, free WiFi, a 37-inch flat-screen TV and a spacious work area. Join us each morning for Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a hurry, simply grab a free Hampton On The Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. If you're visiting for business, our friendly Hampton team members will be delighted to help plan your event in Columbus, Georgia in one of our two meeting rooms. Wind down after a busy day with a rejuvenating workout in the free fitness center or with a swim in the outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing