We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Poor Atmosphere”
Review of Mark's City Grill

Mark's City Grill
Ranked #35 of 561 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in North Columbus, Mark's City Grill prides itself on serving uniquely pleasing dishes with extraordinary flavor. Some choose our meatloaf, mashed potatoes with a side of green beans or the newest addition to our burger family - the Buffalo Burger, battered, deep fried, tossed in hot sauce, with lettuce, tomato, fried pickles, served with ranch or bleu cheese. Food connoisseurs drool over our Shrimp & Grits and everyone enjoys our Pounded Pork Cutlet with broccoli casserole and collard greens. For that quick meal we have several sandwiches such as our Southwestern Chicken Sandwich, or for the lighter side of Mark's opt for one of our several hearty salad options. Of course, don't miss our nightly fish specials, region's best steaks or house specialty, Peanut Butter Pie! No matter what you choose we promise, we'll keep you coming back to experience the genuine taste and hospitality of Mark's City Grill.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have eaten at Mark's City Grill numerous times. We go because the location is away from the congestion of North Columbus Crossing and the food is good. What keeps us from being regular customers is the poor atmosphere. We ate there a week ago (on a Friday night) and the restaurant was so overcrowded when we left that we had trouble making our way out of the building. We won't make the mistake of going there on a Friday night again if we ever go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachluver9GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Went to dinner with a couple friends and found that Mark’s is pretty average. Average food, average service, average value. We went on a Friday night, and by 6, there was a long line waiting to sit (a good sign). First, they don’t have a full bar; beer and wine only. The menu looked pretty good; lots of choices. I had the shrimp and grits, and my friend had the ribeye. The shrimp and grits were very average. The shrimp was a little rubbery (frozen….), and the sauce’s flavor was lacking. I had the broccoli casserole which was nasty. They use frozen broccoli pieces smothered in some kind of nasty cheese sauce. It was inedible. My friend ordered his steak medium and it came medium rare…more on the rare side. He said the steak was good but nothing special; it was average. You can get a meal here, but don’t expect anything special; it is average. I don’t plan on going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ben17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good American Food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The menu portions are ample and well presented. One in our group had the mushroom burger that was piled high with what appeared to be whole fresh cooked mushrooms. Most of the menu items appear to have a high fat/cholesterol content. The only "healthy" item I found was a salad after I asked that the bacon not be included. It was excellent. My impression is prices are about $1 higher per item than at similar restaurants. But our colleague who had the mushroom burger thought it was worth the price,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Mark's City Grill is outstanding with wonderful variation within the menu to ensure each palate is satisfied thoroughly. The corn bread muffins which you get with lunch entrees and can also get with appetizing dip are delicious. The menu has many sandwiches, burgers, salads and entrees. The burgers are the best in Columbus and every entree I have had has been perfect. Also, the sides and dressings are top notch as well. Mark's has a full bar too. When packed (which is most of the time), it can get loud but I appreciate the hustle and bustle. And I have only had the Peanut Butter pie for dessert and it is a creamy/heavenly delight. Enjoy Mark's City Grill.

Helpful?
Thank Bandit2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This has become a regular on our "places to eat out". Good service and great food from appetizer to main dish. Can't speak to the dessert menu since we are always too full to try any. Can be a little loud if they are busy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mark's City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing