We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumble Upon”
Review of Mark's City Grill

Mark's City Grill
Ranked #35 of 561 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in North Columbus, Mark's City Grill prides itself on serving uniquely pleasing dishes with extraordinary flavor. Some choose our meatloaf, mashed potatoes with a side of green beans or the newest addition to our burger family - the Buffalo Burger, battered, deep fried, tossed in hot sauce, with lettuce, tomato, fried pickles, served with ranch or bleu cheese. Food connoisseurs drool over our Shrimp & Grits and everyone enjoys our Pounded Pork Cutlet with broccoli casserole and collard greens. For that quick meal we have several sandwiches such as our Southwestern Chicken Sandwich, or for the lighter side of Mark's opt for one of our several hearty salad options. Of course, don't miss our nightly fish specials, region's best steaks or house specialty, Peanut Butter Pie! No matter what you choose we promise, we'll keep you coming back to experience the genuine taste and hospitality of Mark's City Grill.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stumble Upon”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were invited to eat lunch here. At first it seems a bit smokey, but the food is great and the prices are reasonable according to the amount of food you get. I think they just need a bit more ventilation. the burgers are great and lots of fried everything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdvideo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel next door to this restaurant recommended that we try their food....IT WAS SO GOOD! There was something for everyone...the meat loaf dinner was southern good and the steak was to die for! Melt in your mouth delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank str8fan1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHEVILLE, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOUT and food was average”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaraunt was next to our hotel so we decided to give it a try. We hesitated when we could hear the noise outside the restaraunt but decided to try it anyway. We should have went with our first instincts. You couldnt hear yourself talk from the all the noise. The menu looked really great with many varieties of choices. We chose the meatloaf which came out burned. I also ordered green beans and salad. I received mashed potatos and salad. The waitress was half listening and never came back to our table. We never received a refill on our drink yet she felt comfortable enough to criticize me for not eating the mashed potatos. She said is there something wrong with our potatos. How would I know I didnt eat them because I didnt order them.

It cost more than it should for what you get. PART of the wait staff spent most of their time with one table joking around. Maybe this is a place better suited for lunch than dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHLBYSALEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique menu, good pricing, excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I can't say enough great things about Mark's City Grill. They offer one of the most unique menus in town and have a consistently excellent food and service experience. The pounded pork cutlet is my favorite along with the fried green tomatoes. They're always running a great special too (usually fresh fish). Pricing is middle of the road but the food is far beyond good. The service is always timely with no detail left unnoticed. Our last visit was taking 5 customers out for dinner. We are never nervous about what their experience will be like. We can count on Mark's staff to make it happen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go hungry!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

After reading reviews here, we ate at Mark's City Grill and were not disappointed! Dinner was wonderful and plates could easily have been shared. Everything is made there and it shows. The meatloaf was about 1/4 of the size of a meatloaf pan - large enough for 2. The pounded pork chops were out of the world and 2 filled the entire plate - again enough for 2. Just order extra sides and you're good to go. The mac and cheese has pimentos and was really tastey. All the other veggies were fresh and homecooked. No worries of it tasting canned or nuked. Order the key lime pie and you'll think you're in Key West! It was so good, we returned the next day for lunch and it was all good again. Burgers/wraps and sandwiches were fresh and excellent. Others have posted that it's pricey but we didn't think so. The portions are so large and the quality so much better that the cost is right on target. If you want cheap, go to a chain!The only problem -- they aren't located in our hometown!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gowake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mark's City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing