We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit!”
Review of Columbus Museum

Columbus Museum
Ranked #4 of 45 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The second largest art museum in Georgia offers room after room of fine and decorative American art, with a special emphasis on the Southeast and the Chattahoochee River Valley. With kids in tow, don't miss Transformations, the museum's interactive gallery where children can create their own masterpieces.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I live near the museum and I see every time a new exhibit comes to town. The museum is a wonderful place to stop in and just look around for an hour or even 2 or 3 hours! Whenever my wife and I have friends visiting from out of town, we take them here just to give them a taste of Columbus!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice regional museum”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

While small, this museum has a good sampling of both history and art. There is a good wing on the Bradley family and their influence in Columbus. There are several traveling exhibits, which keep the museum interesting. When in bloom, the gardens are impressive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
“Really Fun”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very well maintained Little Museum with manicured cute exhibits - really surprised - really loved this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent permanant and traveling exhibits”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The museum has a children's exploration area as well as permanent and traveling exhibits focusing on art. This is an art and "historical" museum, not a natural history museum.

The short movie will provide first-time visitors to the Columbus area with an overview of the "valley" and other places to see. A walk down one of the permanent exhibits provides a great historical overview of Columbus.

At our last visit, the Museum had and excellent Warhol exhibit. This free museum is a gem and easily managed within a two-hour span.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected bonus in my old hometown.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I believe I probably visited when I was a kid in Columbus, when it was still the Bradley Museum. Who can remember that far back, though ?
The main exhibit floor surprised me. I didn't expect to find so many things of interest in a local (IOW, non-Smithsonian class) museum. They've done a great job here.
The bottom floor is a school-age kid exclusive floor, this of no interest if crayons are in your distant past.
The current Andy Warhol exhibit on the top floor may be of interest to fans. In my case, it reinforced my distinct lack of interest in almost anything Warholesque. Different strokes for different folks, though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlennWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing