We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would have been 5 star except for the overpowering smell in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 660 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one evening. The room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. There was even a comfortable lounge chair for relaxing without having to sit on the bed while watching TV. Shower was great. We received a courtesy call asking if we needed anything. The beds were large and comfortable, not hard but firm. Loads of pillows provided. The thermostat was located on the wall - unique to hotels we frequent. The room gets 5 stars from us.

Breakfast was awesome. It is offered for 3 hours and replenished and cleaned constantly. Included were made-to-order waffles, eggs, bacon, delicious biscuits with gravy (best I have had at a hotel), cold cereal selections, oatmeal packets, donuts, danish, and muffins, fresh fruit selections, cold yogurt cups, juices (apple, orange), milk, ice water, and coffee. A managers reception, as it was called, was offered upon our arrival and included a selection of freshly baked cookies, cold sodas, and nacho chips with salsa and dipping cheese. All of this was complementary.

There is a computer room, an outdoor pool and hot tub, and a workout room, which we did not use. They appeared well kept. The desk staff was friendly, polite, efficient, and accomodating, especially during check-in. No complaints with any staff.

The location is not far from the highway but definitely not right next door. It is in a newer shopping area, lots of popular stores and restaurants, a clean and safe appearance. We drove downtown to the Columbus State University area and Riverwalk in 15 minutes.

We would have spent $20 - $30 for breakfast at a fast food restaurant, so we consider this in comparing hotel costs. We booked through an online discount site and saved 25% for the night.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember the thermostat is located on the wall. I almost broke the unit trying to find a little doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationmom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank SHELIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was very pleased with how accomodating the staff was during this full house weedend of sports and military graduations. The beds were comfy, the breakfast yummy and the whirlpool fabulous!
Thank you for the fine southern hospitality. Even though this is not the closest hotel to my destination, I will be back on Dec 20th. Happy Thanksgiving yall.... gabby

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Gabby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus (Fort Benning)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbus/ Ft. Benning
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus - North
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning

Address: 1711 Rollins Way, Columbus, GA 31904-3690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#6 Family Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#8 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Columbus Hotel Columbus
Wingate Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing