We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Came for my son''s military graduation. We reserved a room with a sleeper sofa since my son would be coming to stay with us. First we were told the sofa was broke and they would need to give us a rollaway bed. That wouldn't work since the room is too small. The front desk was not friendly. The sofa sleeper is horrible, you could even feel the springs and it sloped in the center. I know sleep sofas are not the best but this was horrible. The toilet paper holders were busted. Then they talk about free internet access - Most of the time we could not even get on the internet.

This is the first time I've ever written a bad review. We were very disappointed.

The gals who served breakfast were great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Dana D -
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, as it helps to direct us to the areas in need of refreshment and attention. We do also thank you for giving our hotel the honor of your visit and we do sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. Your concerns are very important to us and we invite you to contact the hotel directly to work towards a solution together, should there be an opportunity to assist you again in the future. As TripAdvisor offers confidentiality, we are limited as to what information we can research about your stay. That said, we do understand that every guest is different and each has different preferences and needs. We do strive with all of our best efforts to offer our utmost to each and every one of our guests. Once again, we are truly sorry for the inconveniences. We hope to hear from you and wish you the very best in all of your future travels.
Thank you,
Country Inn & Suites Team
cx_clbs@countryinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 368 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

the overall experience was great. Employees were wonderful. Rooms were clean. The place is tucked away in a quiet corner so there isnt any outside noises. Have stayed here several times while visiting our son at Fort Benning. Have never had any problems. Will stay there again!
Below, in the rating list, I selected terrible on the rating for restaurant and kids activities because neither are available. But it is no bearence on the motel itself......just the area/town in which the motel is in.

Room Tip: the beds are wonderfully soft. felt like home!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank april s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear April S -
We are so happy to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us! We truly strive to be helpful to our guests and offer the utmost conveniences to all that we have the pleasure of accommodating! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and our future guests. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to having y'all stay with us again!
Many Thanks!
Country Inn & Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at this County Inn & Suites numerous times over the last several months. The hotel is typical of a Country Inn & Suite with regards to the layout and architecture and amenities. The staff is very customer oriented. They greet you by name after staying there just a couple times. They truly make you feel part of the family and will do most anything it takes to correct a problem that you have with the facilities, the room, your special needs, and even with other guests. A very professionally run staff. I will continue to stay at this hotel whenever I travel to Columbus, GA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_LA55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Michael_LA55138:
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR STAYING WITH US! It means so much to have you stay with us and to continue staying with us! We have a wonderful team and I appreciate you sharing these specific praises. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and our future guest. We appreciate YOU and we look forward to your next arrival!
Thank you once again!
Country Inn & Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I had to make a quick trip to Columbus as our daughter was in the ICU unit at St. Francis Hospital at Columbus. We were treated great at the Country Inn. Everyone there seemed to bend over backwards to help us with directions to the Hospital, places to eat, etc. The lady that worked in the breakfast area was especially nice to us, even told us that she would pray for our daughter. So great to meet folks like that who were complete strangers. Thnaks so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidBurgner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear “DavidBurgner” … We hope your daughter is feeling much better. We are so happy to hear you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us! Deborah is a great asset to our team and I appreciate you sharing these specific praises. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope that when your travels bring you back to Columbus, that we will again have the honor of accommodating y’all! If you didn't already, please be sure you become a Club Carlson Member to earn points towards future stays. Many thanks, the Country Inn & Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stay in hotels all the time, beacuse my job requires a lot of traveling. But I must say the staff at this Country Inn and Suite is by far the best. They all make you feel so welcome and are always asking is there anything else you need. I rank this hotel in my top two and would recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: My advice to you is just ask the hotel receptionist....they are so knowledgeable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear ‘Derrick B’:
Thank you for visiting with us and sharing this kind review! What an honor to receive a 5*/GREAT review! We truly strive to be helpful to our guests and offer the utmost conveniences to all that we have the pleasure of accommodating! Thank you again for sharing your encouraging review with us and our future guests. We appreciate you and we look forward to your next arrival!
Best wishes, MANY thanks & Happy New Year!
Country Inn & Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here while visiting family in Columbus. I was looking for something right off the highway and while I was unfamiliar with the brand, I gave it a shot because of it's convenient location. I am very glad I took the chance!

No, this is not the Ritz Carlton, but the hotel is clean, the staff very friendly and the free breakfast is much more than coffee and muffins. This is now my go to hotel brand for those 1-2 nights stays on the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agtmldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Thomas G ... Thank you for your visit and this review! We appreciate you taking the time to post the review and share your experiences with us and our future guests. Please be sure to visit us again in the future, should your travels return you to Columbus, GA! If you didn't already, please become a Club Carlson Member to earn points towards future stays. Many thanks and best wishes, the Country Inn & Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We reserved this room online using Club Carlson offered discount. We arrived very early in the morning and were allowd to check in with a half day additional fee, that was great since we had driven all night. The room was clean and quiet. The free breakfast was good when I got there at 07:30 but my wife said the scrambled eggs were getting rubbery after being out for a while so she ate something else. The staff was very friendly and I spoke with a few of them for a while. It is nice to deal with people that care about you and take the time to talk to you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poiuytrrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManagementTeam, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear “poiuytrrew”
We are so happy to hear you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us! We truly strive to be helpful to our guests and offer the utmost conveniences to all that we have the pleasure of accommodating! I am sorry for the inconvenience that occurred with breakfast. I will be sure to address this concern with the breakfast hostesses. Again, thank you for sharing your experiences with us and our future guest! We appreciate you and we look forward to your next arrival!
Thank you once again!
Country Inn & Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus (Fort Benning)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 47 in Columbus
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbus/ Ft. Benning
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus

Address: 1720 Fountain Ct, Columbus, GA 31904-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#9 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $82 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Columbus, GA Hotel is conveniently located near Columbus Park Crossing, Ft. Benning and the Welcome Center. Hotel amenities include an Outdoor Pool, Fitness Center, complimentary breakfast and complimentary, wireless Internet access. Whether you're up for an adventure or getting down to business, our accommodations will provide you with everything you need for a pleasant and relaxing stay. Choose the Country Inn & Suites and see why our southern hospitality and quality amenities make us one of the best hotels in Columbus, GA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Columbus
Columbus Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing