We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Columbus
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway ”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited friends in Columbus, Georgia for the weekend. We had stayed at a TownePlace Suite in Chattanooga and decided to continue our trend. The hotel had easy access on & off the interstate and was in a quiet area. The king room was a little crowded for two adults; breakfast was superb with a great selection of breakfast food items. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ybslsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    13
    5
    10
See reviews for
44
18
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Bed bugs!!!! We informed the front desk about our concerns that there were bed bugs in our room after our first night. We were assured that all bedding would be replaced with clean ones and maintenance would inspect the room for bed bugs and we would be moved if bed bugs were found! After returning from our son's basic training graduation, we were assured that the room was clean and bug free. After our second night, my wife was covered in bites. Some became infected and left permanent scars. Their parent company Marriott, the Hotel Management and their insurance company (Chubb Services) have been less then apologetic. Marriott Cares passes the buck to the hotel, the hotel doesn’t even acknowledge the issue and referred us to a claim with their insurance company Chubb services who like any insurance company, is giving us the run around.
Not a single one of the three has offered to reimburse us for our stay or replace our luggage that had to be thrown out in order to avoid contaminating our home. So, to summarize, we spent over $200 to be eaten in our sleep. Had to throw out two very good pieces of luggage and my wife has to live with the physical and emotional scars. SHAME ON MARRIOTT, THE HOTEL MANAGEMENT and INSURANCE COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!!!
As a frequent business traveler with Marriott Executive Platinum status, I would have thought my business and money were more appreciated. Boy was I wrong!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have bed bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Busy_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpscolumbus, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbus, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Good Afternoon,

I apologize for your recent experience at the TownePlace Suites in Columbus, GA. We take all issues very seriously and continue to work diligently with every guest to assure a pleasant experience while staying with us. Once I was informed of the situation, I contacted our pest control company to complete an investigation of your guest room. Based on their inspection, they could not find any evidence of bed bugs in the room. I can assure you that we make every effort to address situations of this nature immediately. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff is phenomenal. The service is second to none. We travel often with our 3 businesses and this hotel exceeded our expectations! The staff is friendly and so helpful. This is our hotel of choice when we are in the Columbus, GA area,

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the TownePlace Suites in August. Our son is stationed at Ft Benning and we went to visit him for 4nights 5 days. We started in a standard King room with pull out sofa. The room had a weird smell, and when I asked to be moved and upgraded, we were sent to the a 2 bedroom suite. This room was WONDERFUL. Perfect for our extending length visit. The room still had a weird odor, a cross between must, raid and bleach. The breakfast was your standard continental meal. Nothing hot, unless you heated a frozen breakfast sandwich. But since both our rooms had full fridges and stove tops, we could make our own breakfast in our room. We didn't try the pool, but it appeared clean. I LOVED that coffee was fresh and available all day. Definitely a hotel I would recommend and plan to stay at again. Safe part of town, near shopping and an easy quick drive to base.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are great for stays of longer than 2 days with a family. Worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AunestyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

You will find this hotel located right off the interstate and in close proximity to Ft. Benning. The area has a number of restaurants as well as some "big box" shopping. The hotel has a small fitness center, but they have access to a health club open 24 hours.
The breakfast is more of a grab and go, but is alright for one day. The rooms are in good shape, although the couch was a little stained. I appreciated the upgrade to a one bedroom suite as it gave me room to spread out as I worked.
All in all it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently was in Columbus to run the Dixie Jr. Boys World Series and booked twelve rooms at the TownePlace and Fairfield Inn and suites for Directors and Officials of our organization. I don't think I have ever had a more pleasant experience working with the managers and staff at these properties. This is a first class place with a first class staff. I had no complaints from our officials and that is very unusual. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. Thank you for making our week long stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommytj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We started the week at a Marriott Ritz Carlton, and ended at this Marriott property, helping some friends move. Now, the Ritz it is not. But for a budget-priced hotel, they really have done a nice job. Rooms or suites are clean and crisp looking. We didn't eat breakfast there, but we would recommend when in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#25 of 46 in Columbus
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#17 of 46 in Columbus
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 46 in Columbus
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus
Residence Inn Columbus
#24 of 46 in Columbus
77 reviews
5.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Columbus

Property: TownePlace Suites Columbus
Address: 4534 Armour Rd, Columbus, GA 31904-5226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite, extended stay Columbus hotel is located near Ft Benning and the South Commons Softball Complex. We're also close to General Dynamics, St. Francis Hospital, and Aflac facilities as well as the National Infantry Museum, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, and Coca-Cola Space Science Center. Our Columbus hotel features studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your TownePlace Suites Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbus Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing