We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service poor food”
Review of Caffe Amici

Caffe Amici
Ranked #85 of 559 Restaurants in Columbus
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good service poor food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our party just didn't care for the food or the atmosphere. The resturant can use a good cleaning and some TLC. You get alot of food though. Some dishes lacked flavor or were too salty...i.e. the lasangna. I did enjoy the seafood linguine the following day. The garlic bread was good but it doesn't come with the meal. My mimosa was served from the fridge in a bottle not made at the bar. Overall, my experience was costly and disappointing...I guess I expected too much from this place. Oh well on to the next.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mstasha2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    14
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
“Possibly the worst experience at a restaurant.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Visited this restaurant Tuesday 8/4/2012
1. First thing that I noticed was the smell when you first walk in. I can't quite put my finger on what it is but it is not a fresh or clean scent. (Not a deal breaker yet)
2. Restaurant is outdated. Furniture and decorations need to be changed out. (Still not a deal breaker)
3. My wife found a large, very large cooked moth in her sphagetti. (I guess that's better than finding a half eaten cooked bug in our food.)Of course, this ruined the appetite of the entire party. 8 of us total. One of us had already finished his meal when the bug was discovered another one was near completion with his meal. The rest of us had only consumed about half our food. The waitress murmured an apology to my wife, removed her meal from the ticket and the rest of us had to pay for our meals. Neither my wife nor the company that we keep ever walk into a restaurant expecting to receive anything for free. And even if we do have a bad experience we never bother the staff. However, I feel very strongly that once a bug of any kind or size is discovered in your food no one at the table should have to pay for their food. A visit to the table by management would be in order. And apologies should be raining down on everyone at the table from management, cooks and even the wait staff. I understand that things happen, and I would be willing to eat there again. However, the attitude of the staff after discovering the bug in our food was unacceptable. Having to pay for the rest of the meals was just adding insult to injury. Will never eat at this place again.
Robert

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, al.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Columbus”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Chains such as Olive Garden & Carraba's are tasty and reasonably priced, however Amici's is even better on all counts. At Amici's you can dine, not just eat, and you are able to hear the conversation of your dinner guest. Try it to love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tbc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good option”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

There aren't endless options for Italian cuisine in Columbus, so Caffe Amici is a good option. The food is above average, and overall it's tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLM_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Owner Julie is very rude!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have ate at this restaurant multiple times a week and the owner has yet to ever speak to me or tell me thanks for my business, very nasty! I have witnessed her address other regulars but maybe I'm the wrong color who knows!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dance_machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Amici also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing