We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good down-home cooking and very friendly folks”

Burt's Butcher Shoppe & Eatery
Ranked #171 of 562 Restaurants in Columbus
Restaurant details
washington dc
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good down-home cooking and very friendly folks”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Pulled into Burt's 10 minutes before the kitchen closed on a Thursday night, and they treated us like royalty. They moved quickly and efficiently, but they didn't push us out.

We had the schnitzel, beef tips, grilled cheese, and more. Everything was really good and really cheap. Huge portions --- and all came with bread tha was nearly 2 inches thick.

The atmosphere is friendly, but it's not fancy. It's basically a cafeteria, with formica tables and rickety chairs. But you're there for quick, good food -- and that's what you get.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Long wait, greasy food, and poor service. Plenty of better options close by

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, GA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Burt has the BEST steaks in town”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

For the best in fresh meats and the most delicious steaks, go to see Burt.

Helpful?
1 Thank Imatoepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I Will NEVER Set Foot in This Place Again!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Thank you to Burt's for a ruined evening. Arrived at 5:55 PM, all the open tables were dirty. We were told to sit anywhere. No one ever wiped our table. Waitress came and took our order, brought drinks and a plain salad with greenish-white tomatoes and a disgusting dressing that my wife ate only a couple of. This was the last visit we had from our waitress. We kept seeing patrons who arrived after us get served, finish their meal and leave. Waitress refused to acknowledge us or make eye contact. At 6:55 we finally went to the counter to ask what was up, woman there said she would check. Twenty more minutes, no visit from waitstaff or anyone, no explanation, no anything.

Finally, we got up and waited to in line to pay for our drinks and salad. When we finally got to the front, she asked if we got our food. We said no, and we were told "you don't owe me anything." No apology, no explanation, nothing. So, for our ninety minutes of sitting at a dirty table looking at disgustingly dirt walls and facilities, we got a free lemonade and iced tea.

Sorry I didn't have a camera to take a picture of this dive. I won't be going back anytime, ever, so I won't be able to supply you with any photos. There is an Applebee's a block away, lots of places at the mall, a Longhorn Steakhouse on Macon Road. You can get a steak delivered from the Great Steak Out. Recommend you stay far away from Burt's Butcher Shop and Eatery.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgiaKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“O... M... G...”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Burt's Butcher Shoppe & Eatery is Columbus, Georgia's not-so-well-kept-secret. Come for the full-service butcher shop, where one can order a custom-cut 18 oz. ribeye steak along with a couple of pounds of fresh-ground beef or virtually any cut of beef or pork. They feature seasonal specials, will pre-season - or even cook - the meats, and offer a free baking potato as their way of saying "thanks". But you will want to stay for the full-service restaurant attached to the shop. They cook up the full spectrum of steakhouse fare to order and the taste is off the charts! Their daily specials - offered Tuesday through Saturday - allow patrons to enjoy some of the higher-priced items at a bargain; with no corner-cutting. Be warned: this is not your country club. The atmosphere is non-pretentious and down-to-earth, but the food will make you feel as though you should be spending your kids' college funds.

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burt's Butcher Shoppe & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Burt's Butcher Shoppe & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing