We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun.”

Coca-Cola Space Science Center
Ranked #6 of 45 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Columbus State University's Coca-Cola Space Science Center is located in the heart of uptown Columbus along the beautiful Chattahoochee Riverwalk and adjacent to the Columbus Historic District and the Iron Works Convention and Trade Center. Our state of the art facility houses a Challenger Learning Center, the Omnisphere Theater and the Mead Observatory. Visit our Plaza area for many interactive exhibits and displays. There's something for everyone so keep an eye on what's happening at the Space Center. Schedules subject to change. Call for more information on any of our activities or events.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Tasting coke products from all around the world was a nice experience. Seeing how coke evolved is interesting too if you like drinking it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    36
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sidetrip during an afternoon”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice relaxing afternoon to spend a couple hours. Planetarium is my favorite part. Reasonably priced. interactive exhibits are fun also.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids had a blast!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went during the week day and it was empty, but was a very cool place to spend an afternoon..Learned many things, played on their simulation equipment..Columbus is a beautiful city!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonjaZ702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, not very exciting”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This sounded like such a great place to see on our vacation. When we arrived, there was a parking lot but it was completely empty. There was street parking so we parked next to the other 2 cars there and went in. My husband is in the Army (Ft Benning) so we got the military discount ($5/person). We walked in and it literally took us 15 minutes to see everything. Don't get me wrong, there are a few shows and such to see. We watched one since we were there for it. That was probably the most interesting part. The auditorium has reclined seats because the screen is on the ceiling. We watched the show with about 10 other people and left. They have an interactive game where you sit in a little pod and pretend you are flying a plane. My husband and I enjoyed that most (spent 10 minutes playing it since we had nothing better to do). When we left, there was a little trail to walk so we did that just outside the entrance. It follows some old railroad tracks and the river is on the other side. Wasn't a bad view. Definitely more interesting than the Science Center itself.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch C, Guest Relations Manager at Coca-Cola Space Science Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2015
Since your last visit our Exhibit Gallery has undergone a few improvements! While we have always had many exhibits that let you read or watch videos to learn about the Space Program as well as sciences related to space, we have been improving our experience even more. Now we have real artifacts from the NASA Shuttle Program that are on display in our Gallery, and we are working hard to make our museum even more interactive to help capture the interest of even our smallest astronauts. We regularly do artifact tours to immerse our customers in the history of the Space Program as well as be able to answer questions you may have about anything to do with space! We have a small building – but we focus on make sure it is the best experience we can provide despite the space restrictions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Sorry, I would like to say something positive about this attaction. But there is really not much to recommend. There are no orginal or good replicas to view. Most everything diplayed on posters, placks, etc. Can be found by reading the internet. At the time we were there a school field trip was in progress and it was even worse.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tamaralgage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch C, Manager at Coca-Cola Space Science Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Since your visit we have actually acquired several artifact pieces from the NASA Shuttle program. In our lobby you can find a Main Engine Shuttle Nozzle, as well as a front landing tire, the leading edge of the shuttle wing, consoles from Firing Room 3 at Kennedy, an onboard shuttle computer, and even one of the escape baskets! We do have a lot of field trips, but most of those are scheduled in the mornings on week days. If you come after 2PM, or on Saturday, you shouldn’t encounter many field trips. Also, if you call ahead we can let you know if we have any field trips planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coca-Cola Space Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Coca-Cola Space Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing