We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all... Especially for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Atlanta Airport
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in College Park
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Not bad at all... Especially for the price!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you want a 5 star, top-rated hotel, you're going to pay big bucks. If you're on a budget, like most of us, this place wasn't bad at all. My husband and I booked the room on a different website, but for some reason it didn't go through. I called to advise the hotel and ask their advice, and the young lady at the front desk (her name started with an N, but I can't recall it, exactly) was really helpful. She gave me the web address where I could book the room and save a significant amount of cash. The hotel IS in a pretty shady area, but we never felt unsafe. Our car wasn't messed with at all, and we never had any problems. The room was clean enough to feel really comfortable, and the bed was quite nice, I must say. All of the staff we spoke with were really nice and we enjoyed our stay! Everyone's opinion differs, but I would say that we have average, middle class standards for accommodation, and we found this hotel to be just fine! :)

Room Tip: I would say that, if you're a light sleeper, stay on a lower level floor, because there is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    103
    87
    105
    117
See reviews for
127
92
103
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed here several times because it is close to the airport and they do park and fly. It is convenient to be able to leave our cars at the hotel while we are gone. The price is fair and the rooms are ok for a single night stay. The restaurant again, is ok. Nothing fancy at this place but it worked for our needs. The shuttle is not speedy and can sometimes be competitive to get on it. The staff is fine but do not go out of their way to be helpful. If you just need a safe convenient place without many frills to stay then this is the place for you. If you are looking to be pampered, look for another place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

While traveling, my flight was delayed and I missed my connection in Atlanta. My airline offered a complimentary room voucher and re-booked me on the next day. Once I found the shuttle area in the airport, it took about 30 minutes before it arrived and there were several people waiting. It seems like this hotel is frequently booked by airlines that need to comp passengers a night stay due to flight issues. Upon arrival at the hotel, we formed a line and were just given room keys - no information was taken. I made my way to the room on the second floor. The hallways were dark and dingy. My room was at the very end of the hallway next to the stairwell door. The door to the stairs was propped open with a dirty washcloth exposing the decaying stairwell area. It seemed strange that this was open - and for some reason made me uncomfortable. The room was dated - and not in good repair. There were many things that could use attention - the phone was disgusting and the cords were all unplugged, the heat/AC unit was dirty and falling apart, the chair had many stains on it...I could go on and on. The view from the room was the dirty loading dock area where it seems many employees take their smoke breaks. (I could smell smoke in the room every now and then - maybe it was from here?) I didn't find the bathroom to be too bad and there was a nice new TV. The bed sheets were also clean. Do yourself a favor and don't book this property unless you have no other choice. I didn't feel safe and couldn't leave fast enough. I didn't even check out the breakfast because I just wanted to leave. A rating of two is probably one too many for this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bam377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Upon missing my connecting flight to San Antonio due to bad weather, Delta issued me a $60 voucher to stay at this hotel. Since I didn't have to pay for it and it was one night only, I accepted the invitation.

Upon looking at the dirty stained furniture in the lobby should have been a red flag but I was so tired that I blew it off. The manager gave me a room that someone else was staying in. I went back to the lobby and I got another room.

I got to the room turned on all the lights and to my dismay, the furniture (chairs) were STAINED. You could see where someone tried to clean it, I guess. I didn't sit on any of them, to be exact they were chairs with ottomans. I was DISGUSTED, it looked the furniture had been used and a poor attempt had been made to clean it.

The only things decent about the room was the bedroom was separate from the living area and it was BIG and the king bed was nice. The bathroom sink was granite flat screens were a nice touch, otherwise, it was very disappointing.

I went to get some dinner at the restaurant in the hotel the carpet felt wet and it was DIRTY. The young lady there was the waitress, cashier and bartender. She was helpful as best as she could. I finally ordered my food and went back to my room and 30 minutes later went back to the restaurant and the food wasn't ready as she'd explained to us. Myself and others stood by the kitchen doors and the cook and the young lady were arguing very LOUDLY, everyone sitting in the restaurant heard them, it was unprofessional and embarrassing. The manager went in to the kitchen and don't know what he said to them, if anything, because after he left the kitchen, they were still arguing. I had to wait an additional 30 minutes for my food.

I won't stay there again and I wouldn't advise any one else to either.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetGaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a really bad travel day on Delta and missed my connection on the last flight out of Atlanta that night. Delta sent us to this hotel for the night.

The room was clean and comfortable with a free wifi connection. It was renovated not too long ago. As I didn't have any luggage, I was given free of charge a disposable toothbrush with toothpaste, something I appreciated after a long day. The TV didn't work, but I only had a 5 hour sleep ahead of me so I didn't bother to ask for another room, which I'm sure they would have agreed as the receptionist was nice when I checked in. I didn't have time to use any facility or to check them, but there was a pool, a restaurant and a small gym. For the price on the voucher I had, it was a really great value, I had a nice service and it includes a free shuttle to the airport.

My room was right in front of the elevator which I didn't hear much at 1 a.m. when I went to sleep but it wake me up a few times during the night when people were leaving to take their flight. I could hear them discuss as if I was in the hallway with them before the elevator made it's own noise... So if you stay in a room away from the elevators, I'd recommend this hotel and wouldn't mind if the airline sent me there again on a future connecting flight gone wrong.

Room Tip: Elevators are noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel because of a cancelled flight. AirTran put us at this place. It's the pits. If I could give it a 0, I would have. Its a old hotel, smelly, nasty. The shower tub backs up and don't drain. Drunk shady people in lobby. Restaurant is old and not very healthy. Spend 6 hours here and that was enough...Good value for a $54 flight voucher, but would of not paid a $1.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Did this hotels park and fly and had very good shuttle service both ways. I had a problem with my car and shuttle driver helped with it also. Hotel was average quality but had all you need for night before flight out or back. Breakfast somewhat limited but it was free

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport South
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Atlanta Airport South
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Suites Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#16 of 26 in College Park
162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Atlanta Airport East/Forest Park
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Atlanta Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Atlanta Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Atlanta Airport
Address: 1551 Phoenix Blvd, College Park, GA 30349-5503 (Formerly Quality Hotel Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Atlanta Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Atlanta Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn College Park
Quality Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing