We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate property, relaxing haven”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of PETIT PARADIS

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coulonges sur l'Autize, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Micha2306
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Immaculate property, relaxing haven”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are delighted to be back for our fourth visit since 2010 (also 2012 and 2013). Every time we return the friendly proprietors have added another feature and this year our teenage daughters were very happy that it was a hot tub alongside the beautiful pool.

Everything in le petit paradis is finished to a very high standard with lots of space for a relaxing family holiday.

Apart from the bikes available to explore the area there is plenty to do locally and Philippe is a mine of information with plenty of interesting suggestions.

I'm sure we will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
It's also the same pleasure for us to meet your friendly family, each time you spend a holiday week. We think already to a new feature in the cottage and to new suggestions to see and do in our surrounding area (near the Atlantic coast), before your next coming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnaggingP...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored & located gite - perfect!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed in many cottages & gites in France over the years and this is by far the best.
It has been lovingly restored and furnished so feels very much like a home. It is located with fabulous views of the countryside with a great balcony, pool area and jacuzzi. Philippe & Christiane live next door but the organisation of the houses gives complete privacy. Philippe is an excellent host - helpful, considerate but also discreet.

We would loved to have had another week here and will definitely come back when we next visit this part of France. As usual, the weather was the only minus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you so much for your compliments, the best we have had: feel at home with lovely countryside, pool, hot tub and more. For your next coming, you will be able to discover the best tourist attractions of our region, under the sun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PontinFam...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Having had our original plans cancelled less than 48 hours before we were due to travel I hastily hit the internet and sent a number of last minute requests out via ownersdirect to see what else we could find. I received a helpful email reply within just a few minutes confirming that Le Petit Paradis was available and had lots of help to book and get a quick payment sent across.

Everything about our experience was fantastic and we feel so lucky to have found Phillipe & Christiane, their beautiful cottage and Hazelnut and Vanille the lovely donkeys. The cottage is traditional yet modern, spotless inside and tucked away in rolling fields. Our lack of french could have been a problem but luckily Philippe's english is much better than he thinks. Monday morning Philippe popped back to talk to us about the local area and his suggestions were spot on.

We were luck to have had the most amazing weather and being able to sit outside for a coffee or glass of local vino was a treat as was a night time chill in the hot tub. Given the time of year much of the local area was closed up for winter but we enjoyed exploring a part of france that was new to us and trips out to La Rochelle, Ils de Re and the Jardin des Chiron (though that was tricky to find :-)

We are all so glad we had our holiday cancelled and came to find Le Petit Paradise. A wonderful week, in a wonderful place owned by wonderful people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
We are very pleased that a combination of circumstances enabled you to explore and enjoy our area and our ecocottage.
As you have seen, there are many things to do and to see under our mild climate.
We still have other things to show you, in the next coming of your friendly family that we keep an excellent memory.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snorklers...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fabulous week spent at this beautiful property. Stunning inside and out. See our other Trip Advisor entries for all the fabulous places we visited nearby during our week here. We were new to this area of France and we loved it for its great food, friendly people and beautiful landscape.

The cottage is tradional style with every modern convenience. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The pool is so lovely with great quality garden furniture for you to relax in the sun and shade, to suit you. There is also a hot tub.

The owners were so very welcoming and made a huge effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. They were kind enough to welcome us with local orange juice, biscuits and aperitif - delicious!

The donkeys (who live in the field) are adorable and kept us entertained with their antics all week. If we could have fitted them in the car, we would have brought them home with us!

We were really in need of a rest and recuperation type holiday and we certainly found it here. I can think of no negative points to say about this property. Book this cottage with the knowledge that you will have a superb holiday with all home comforts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and outside spaces..
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality of our region. Also very happy that you have had a rejuvenating and sunny week before returning to work and school. Your friendly family was a very pleasant presence throughout your stay. And thank you so much for your glowings appeciations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent. Relaxing. Idyllic. Repeatable experience.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Idyllic location, quiet, relaxing and away from it all.
It's just like the photos provided, no airbrushing here.
Eat breakfast with a panoramic view of the countryside and that's from the dinning table, the large windows cleverly slide all the way back and disappear into the wall so indoors is instantly outdoors!
You hardly need to go out but there are two seating areas for the purpose if needed, plus poolside.
Pool is heated by solar as is the outside shower, hotter than expected, like an indoor hot shower, not cold at all. Hot tub is... well hot and it works, room for 3. Bath robes provided.
At night, poolside and terraces, it all lights up artistically, pleasing.

The Gite has everything you need, comfortable, clean with English freesat channels on tv.
WiFi provided, not fibre speeds but good enough for email and internet browsing or Skype/Facetime. Kitchen is well equipped.

Feeding carrots to the friendly donkey/mule was a daily routine for us. Cycles provided but not used. Canoe not used as river was a bit low, didn't really pray for rain to correct this either. Fishing possible.

Local town and amenities [shopping] 10mins away has all you need. Great area with information of things to explore and restaurants recommended provided by owners, better briefing than any Travel Rep I've known. Coast within an hour or Puy Du Foy for day trips. Closer is Niort with the Don Jon or boat/punt rides on the 'Green Venice'.

If your French is as good as mine you'll be glad of the owners English which really isn't bad.

So happy to know I'm going back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, hot tub
Liked least: WiFi speed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
We are happy you discovered a vacation home on line with your expectations and accomodation at your convenience, with attention to Anglophones.Thank you for your confirmed return next year, with new opportunities for discoveries, close to the lovely Atlantic coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great holiday in a beautiful part of France.”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great family holiday, lots to do and see in this beautiful part of France. Petit Paradis was everything we expected as the website photos showed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thank you to recognize that our middle west region of France has many tourist assets, as your one week stay was not possible to explore all. May be next time?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_foster4
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay with your own pool and spa”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautifully renovated house which has everything you need for a holiday from bath robes, board games to a coffee machine and tame donkeys! The house is comfortable and well equipped. We ate outside every meal time and overlooked the pool and valley beyond - fabulous! We swam, ate and played boules in the garden. Lots to do in and around. Philippe and Christiane are wonderful hosts who have every detail covered to make your stay great. The donkeys love company and are very entertaining. Great holiday for all ages and we all relaxed immediately from the youngest to the oldest. Good location to experience France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fabulous house with its amazing style and comprehensive amenities
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
Thank you so much for your fabulous reviews. We are touched and satisfied what we offer you has agreed. Moreover, you could appreciate the weather, fine in May in the middle west of France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing